Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Have a Question  
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
 Show Only Halal 

Halal-Haram-Mushbooh Ingredients

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
halalDextroseGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a corn sweetener from corn starch.
halalDicalcium PhosphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
unknownDiglycerideIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalDillGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalDipotassium PhosphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
haramDisodium Guanosine 5' - MonophosphateGrain & plant based ingredientsNucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
halalDisodium GuanylateGrain and plant based ingredientDisodium Guanylate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is a nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in infant baby formula.
halalDisodium InosinateGrain and plant based ingredient.Disodium Inosinate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in baby infant formula.
haramDisodium Uridine 5' - MonophosphateGrain & plant based ingredientsDisodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
unknownDried MilkDairy IngredientsMilk is Halal but dryers use to dried milk should not use for drying the Haram dairy products, it has to be Halal or Kosher certified.
halalDurum FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a flour obtained from durum wheat.
halalEDTAMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical chelating agent.
halalEgg WhiteIngredients from Egg and FishIt is a egg white products.
halalEgg YolksIngredients from Egg and FishIt is egge yolk product.
halalEggsIngredients from Egg and FishIt is whole eggs.
unknownEnzymeGrain & Plant based Ingredients or animal sourceEnzymes are protein obtained from plant and animal sources.
unknownEnzyme Modified Soya LecithinIngredients made from plant or animal enzymeSoy lecithin is modified by use of lipase enzyme. It is Halal only if microbial lipase is used or Halal or Kosher certified.
haramErythritolGrain & plant based ingredientsErythritol is a sugar alcohol obtained either from cornstarch or fruit alcoholic fermentation.
unknownEthoxylated Mono- and DiglyceridesIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalFarinaGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a ground particles of durum wheat.
halalFennelGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalFenugreekGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
haramFermented CiderHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is a fermented apple juice.
halalFerric OxideMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
halalFerrous SulphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
halalFish GelatinIngredients from Egg and FishIt is made from bones of fish.
halalFlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is obtained by grinding cereal seeds.
unknownFolic AcidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsFolic acid is a vitamin B. It is obtained synthetically or from Vitamin B. It is Halal if is Halal or Kosher certified. It is not Halal if it is obtained from non Halal sources.
halalFructoseGrain & Plant based IngredientsA sweetener obtained from sugar or sucrose.
halalFumaric AcidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
halalGarlicGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
haramGelatinIngredients made from animalsIt is Haram product if it is made from pig. Many ulema consider it Haram if it is made from non zabiha beef.
halalGellan GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based gum.
halalGhatti GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based gum.
halalGingerGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
halalGlucon-Delta-LactoneMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsIt is a acidulant and used in chemical leavening.
halalGlutenGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant protein.
unknownGlycerinGrain & Plant based Ingredients or animal source Glycerin is a polyhydric alcohol (not ethyl alcohol) used as a humectant. It is made from fat either plant or animal.
unknownGlycerol EsterIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
unknownGlycerol MonostearateIngredients from plant or animal fatGlycerol Monostearate is emulsifier. It is Halal only if it is obtained from plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalGraham FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a whole wheat flour.
halalGrapeGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a fruit.
halalGuar GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a gum obtained from plant.
haramHamHaram Ingredients from PigIt is a pig meat.
haramHard CiderHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is a fermented apple juice.
halalHigh Fructose Corn SyrupGrain & Plant based IngredientsA sweetener obtained from corn.
halalHoneyGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a natural syrup sweetener.
halalHorseradishGrain & Plant based IngredientsA spice obtained from horseradish plant.
halalHydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates,Grain & plant based ingredientsHydrogenated Strach Hydrolysates is a sugar alcohol.
halalHydrogenated Vegetable OilGrain & Plant based IngredientsOil obtained from plant fat.
halalHydrolyzed Vegetable ProteinGrain & Plant based IngredientsA flavor enhancer obtained from vegetable protein.
unknownHydroxylated LecithinIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
haramInosito5' - MonophosphateGrain and plant based ingredientsInosito5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
halalInulinGrain and Plant based ingredientsInulin is storage carbohydrates in chicory, artichoke and other plants. It is extracted by water from roots of plant.
halalInvert SugarGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based sweetener. It is a mixture of dextrose and fructose.
halalIronMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA metal.
halalIsomaltGrain & Plant based ingredientsIsomalt is a sugar alcohol.
halalKarayaGrain & Plant based IngredientsA tree gum.
halalKelpGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a brown seaweed grown on ocean water.
halalL-CysteineSynthetic and FermentationThere are two companies who makes the Halal L-Cysteine and they are: 1. Wacker Chemie of Germany who make the L-Cysteiene by bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced. It is also term as L-Cysteine from fermentation. 2. Ajinomonto Company makes L-Cysteine by synthetic method. This L-Cysteine is Halal certified by Council of Indonesia Ulema. July 2014
haramL-CysteineHuman Hair and Chicken FeathersThe L-Cysteine made from human hair is a Haram ingredient. The L-Cystiene made from chicken/duck feathers is not consider as Halal by ulema. July 2014
halalLactic AcidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsAn acid.
unknownLactitolMilk based ingredientLactitol is a sugar alcohol and made from whey a by-product of cheese making. It is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal or Kosher certified sweet whey or acid whey or a Halal or kosher symbol or suitable for vegetarian appears on food package containing Lactitol.
unknownLactoseDairy IngredientsLactose is milk sugar and obtained from whey during cheese making, so it has to be Halal or Kosher certified for its Halal status.
halalLanolinSheep Wool based productLanolin is fat obtained from sheep's wool without slaughtering the sheep.
halalLanolin AlcoholSheep Wool based productLanolin is a wool wax.
haramLard Ingredients made from Pig FatIt is a pig fat.
halalLicorice RootGrain & Plant based IngredientsA flavoring obtained from plant root.
halalLocust Bean GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based gum.
halalMaceGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
halalMagnesium CarbonateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
unknownMagnesium StearateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsIt is a Magnesium salt of stearaic acid and used as an anticaking agent or llubricant. It is Halal if the stearic acid is from plant fat or Halal or Kosher certified. It is Haram if the stearic acid is from pork fat.
halalMaizeGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a another name of corn.
halalMaltGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is produced from barley a source of enzymes.
halalMaltitolGrain & plant based ingredientsMaltitol is a sugar alcohol
halalMaltodextrinGrain & Plant based IngredientsA product obtained from starch.
halalMaltoseGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a one of the part of starch.
halalMannitolGrain & Plant based ingredientsMannitol is a sugar alcohol.
halalMaple SugarGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a sugar obtained from maple tree.
halalMaple SyrupGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a natural syrup obtained from maple tree.
unknownMargarineGrain & Plant based IngredientsA product whose consitancy and application similar to butter. It is made by mixing milk, fat (either plant or animal) and artificial flavor to provide butter flavor.
halalMarjoramGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
haramMarshmallow containing pork gelatinHaram Ingredients from PigPork gelatin used in making of marshmallow.
halalMethylcelluloseGrain & Plant based IngredientsA gum composed of cellulose.
halalModified Food StarchGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant starch chemically modified.
halalMolassesGrain & Plant based IngredientsA by-product of sugar production from sugar cane.
unknownMono- and DiglyceridesIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalMonocalcium PhosphateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
unknownMonoglycerideIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalMonosodium GlutamateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsMonosodium Glutamate is a flavor enhancer and it si a sodium salt of glutamic acid. It is Halal & Kosher crtified in USA andf made in USA and Brazil.
halalMustardGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant spice.
halalNatural FlavoringGrain & Plant based IngredientsOleoresin of Spices such as Black Peppers Paprika and other spices are also called Natueral flavoring, it is not same as natural flavor. It is mostly used in Tomato Ketchups and other products. The extracting chemical is acetone.
unknownNatural FlavorsGrain & Plant based Ingredients or meatNatural flavor is made from any natural material including meat. It is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified and alcohol is not used as a solvent. A natural flavor could br Kosher certified but alcohol could be use as a solvent then in this case it is not Halal. So therre two requirements, one the Halal material is used as a raw material and second no alcohol is used as a solvent
unknownNiacinGrain & Plant based Ingredients or meatIt is water soluble Vitamin B3. It can be obtained from animal or plant or synthetci sources. Niacin is Halal only if it is obtained from Halal sources and Halal or Kosher certified. Niacin is not Halal if it is obtained from animal sources.
unknownNonfat Dry milkDairy IngredientsMilk is Halal but dryers use to dried milk should not use for drying the Haram dairy products, it has to be Halal or Kosher certified.
haramNucleotidesGrain & plant based ingredientsNucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
halalNutmegGrain & Plant based IngredientsA plant based spice.
halalOatGrain & Plant based IngredientsA cereal.
halalOat FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsFlour obtained from oat cereal.
halalOatmealGrain & Plant based IngredientsMeal obtained from oats.