Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Have a Question  
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
 Show Only Halal 

Halal-Haram-Mushbooh Ingredients

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
unknownTurmericGrain & Plant based IngredientsTurmeric is a colorant spice obtained from the root of the plant. It is Halal if used as pure turmeric powder. But some companies are add some emulsifie to use it in a liquid system. It is Haram if pork emulsifier is used as a carrier.
unknownTurmeric ExtractGrain and Plant based ingredientsIf Turmeric Extarct is extracted with Acetone then it is Halal but if it is extracted with alcohol then it is not Halal.
unknownTurola YeastGrain & Plant based IngredientsTorula yeast is single celled plant and used for flavoring. It can be grown on sugar cane which is a Halal substrate or it can be grown on alcohol or liquor the it became not Halal.
halalVanilla Bean PowderGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is 100% ground vanilla beans.
haramVanilla Bean SpecksGrain & plant based ingredientsVanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in food industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive so many ice cream manufacturer do not use this type of vanilla bean specks. Our ulema consider vanilla bean specks as not Halal if it is obtain after alcohol extraction because alcohol is used on seeds to get vanilla flavor and it is contaminated the Halal vanilla bean seeds.
haramVanilla Beans or Vanilla Beans Speck mentioned in a the ingredients statmentGrain and plant based ingredientsVanilla Bean Specks: Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in the food industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive, so many ice cream manufacturers use exhausted types of vanilla bean or vanilla bean specks. Our Islamic Scholars consider exhausted vanilla bean or specks as not Halal because it is obtained after alcohol extraction. Alcohol is used on vanilla beans to get vanilla flavor and it contaminates the Halal vanilla bean seeds. September 2014
haramVanilla ExtractIngredient from plantVanilla extract is flavorant made fromvanilla bean extract. It is extracted with alcohol and contains minimum 35% alcohol in solution.
halalVanillinMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsVanillin is a flavorant made from synthetic or artificial vanilla which can be plant lignin or synthetically mad e from guaiacol and eugenol.
halalVegetable OilsIngredients made from plant or vegetable fatIt is made from vegetable fat..
halalVinegarMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsVinegar is a acidulant and flavorant. It is made from cider, grape, sucrose, glucose, malt by successive alcoholic and acetous fermentation.. The term vinegar is applies to cider..
halalVital Wheat GlutenGrain & Plant based IngredientsVital wheat gluten is a protein obtained from wheat grain.
unknownVitamin A as RetinolIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B12: As CyanocobalaminIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B1: As ThiamineIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B2: As RiboflavinIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B5: As Pantotherric AcidIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin B6: As PyridoxineIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
halalVitamin C: As Ascorbic AcidIngredients from plantIt is made from plant or synthetic sources
unknownVitamin D as Calciferol:Ingredients from plant or animal sourcesFor the dairy industry it is made from sheep&&&&s Lanolin (wool) for fortifying the milk. It is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin E: As TocopherolIngredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownVitamin K:Ingredients from plant or animal sourcesIt is Halal if it is made from plant sources or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
halalWheatGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a cereal.
halalWheat FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsFlour obtained bt grinding wheat.
unknownWheyDairy Ingredients :Whey is the liquid portion of the milk when milk is coagulated. It is the by-product of cheese making. It is Halal only if the whey is Halal or Kosher certified.
unknownWhey Protein Concentrate.Dairy IngredientsWhey Protein Concentrate is made from whey. It is Halal only if is Halal or Kosher certified.
haramWineHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is a fermented product.
haramWine VinagarGrain & plant based ingredientsWine vinegar is made from wine which is Haram in Islam. Not all wine is converted to vinegar. The flavor and color of wine are also Haram which do not convert to a new thing.
haramWine vinegar.Haram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is obtained from wine and contains left over wine, wine flavor and color.
halalXanthan GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a gum obtained from Xanthomnas bacteria.
halalXylitolGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a sugar alcohol and sweetener for substutting sugar obtained from birch trees.
halalzein.Grain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a corn protein.