Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:





Recent Questions:

  • Assalam u Alikum irresistible Rasberry yogourt halal or not? - Ali
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because alcohol is used in natural flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    11-29-16 20:28:47
  • Is cheetos puff souffles halal - Ruby
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-29-16 16:51:36
  • Is Balsamic Vinaigrette Halal ? - Yousuf Farooq
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    11-28-16 19:10:48
  • Which brand is halal for cooking chocolate?any recommendations thx - Mahwish
  • AOA

    Only three baking chocolate are Halal:

    Search results for the term: baking chocolate

    Total results generated: 3
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Chocolate Flavored Baking Chips Baking Chocolate Great Value A Muslim consumer has provided this information. Wal-Mart Super Center 2013-09-25
    halal Premium Dark Chocolate Baking Chocolate Baker   No Frill Supermarket 2014-09-17
    halal Unsweetened Chocolate Baking Chocolate Baker   No Frill Supermarket 2014-09-17

    Category: E-Numbers
    11-27-16 22:45:04
  • As salaam wa alaikum I am looking for sausage Casings weather they be lamb or collagen that you all have certified. - Fazia Ramjohn Ali
  • AOA

    Only casing is made with cellulose and lamb or collagen casing are not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    11-27-16 21:26:55
  • What type of gelatin does dare real fruit gummies are - hamzah
  • AOA

    Mostly pok gelatin.

    Word Gummies is No No for Muslim Consumers

    There are many products candies, multivitamins, Drunken Gummies made with Vodka, Haribo Gummies, Fiber Gummies, Life Saver Gummies, Lemon - Raspberry Gelatin Gummies.

    The common ingredient in all above is gelatin and mostly pork gelatin is used. Some times marshmallow containing pork gelatin is also used.

    So MCG is requesting Muslim Consumers to avoid consuming any product named with Gummies.


    Category: Food Products
    11-27-16 18:20:48
  • Is Yeast Extract halal they put it in chips - Nada
  • AOA

    Only Baker Yeast extract is Halal. Brewer yeast extract is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-27-16 14:50:40
  • daina sauce is halal or not - Syed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-25-16 16:39:18
  • I bought a pack of kraft caramel candies and it has whey powder in it. While searching for a kosher symbol I found that It had a kd symbol on it. What does that mean? What's a kd symbol. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    KD Kosher symbol is generic some times it is present on product containing kosher gelatin which is made from pig. I need to know complete ingredients of it. If it has natural flavor then alcohol is used in natural flavor as hidden ingredient.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-25-16 11:51:15
  • We are wondering if President 's choice milk chocolate chips are halal? Thank you. - Linda
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it flavors which are made with hidden alcohol then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-24-16 13:47:39
  • is whey powder in caramel candy halal? i bought a pack of caramels from kraft, and it has whey powder in it. is it halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Whey powder in Caramel candy is Halal only if there is a kosher symbol such as COR or MK on the package if there is no kosher symbol then whey powder is not Halal. Also if it has natural flavor then alcohol is used as a hidden ingredient in natural flavor.

    From our FAQ:

    Is Whey a Halal ingredient:

    Muslims think that if whey is a milk based ingredient then it has to be Halal, but this is not true. There are two kinds of whey, one is sweet or rennet whey and the other is acid whey. Acid whey is obtained during the making of acid type cheese such as cottage cheese. Sweet or rennet whey is used more in food products then acid whey. Sweet whey or rennet whey is a by-product of rennet cheese  such as cheddar cheese or Mozzarella cheese. Whey is a portion of milk remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. Whey is Halal only if the Halal starter culture bacteria, Halal medium on which starter culture bacteria are grown (Starter culture bacteria are Halal if they are obtained from milk source not meat source, and media on which these starter culture bacteria are grown. These requirements can only obtained if the cheese and whey are Halal or Kosher certified (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements). A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing whey indicating that it is manufactured under Halal or Kosher supervision. MCG considers Lactose Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-24-16 06:15:01
  • Asalam Alaikum..can you please tell me is Ben and jerry icecream halal if it is which flavors are halal. - Uz
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it flavors which are made with hidden alcohol then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    11-23-16 23:04:40
  • Is excel gum halal? If yes which flavors are halal? - zainab
  • AOA

    None of Excel gum is Halal because they are made on same line where pork containing are made.


    Category: Food Products
    11-23-16 16:57:45
  • Are the microbial enzymes in silani mozzarella cheese extracted from animals-my interest is in knowing if it's extracted from the pigs. - Sahar
  • AOA

    Microbial; enzymes are not extracted from animal source. They are obtained from Halal yeast, fungi and bacteria.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-23-16 06:10:47
  • i want to know if the product p'tit quebec very mild cheddar cheese halal? found in costco ingredients contain milk,modified milk ingredients,bacterial culture,salt,calcium chloride, and enzymes - asif khan
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. From our FAQ:

    CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS:

    The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal: 1. Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, starter culture growth media has to be kosher certified). 2. Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, bulk starter culture media has to be kosher certified). 3. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk. 4. Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves (not available in USA and Canada) and has to be kosher certified 5. Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases has to be kosher certified 6. Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk or whey protein concentrate if added has to be kosher certified 7. Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese has to be kosher certified 8. Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese has to kosher certified 9. Harmless plant based enzyme is if added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese has to be kosher certified 10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums. 11. Cheese must be Kosher certified and the kosher certification must meet the Halal requirements with exception cheese used on pizza, in that case cheese does not have to be kosher certified but if they used kosher certified starter culture bacteria, media and enzyme then meet above requirements then it is consider Halal. Cheese if Halal certified by other Halal certifying organizations must meet above criteria and if above criteria used for Halal certification then it must display on their websites otherwise MCG will not consider their Halal certified cheese as Halal.

     


    Category: Ingredients
    11-21-16 15:44:15
  • Salaamualikum, just want to know if Hemp +green ( whole plant_based protein) halal. Jzk Allah - Neelab
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-21-16 12:36:50
  • as salamu alikum, which brand cheddar cheese is halal at nofrills,freshco,foodbasic,loblows and metro.because in our city there is no halal grossery store.thanks - zarin
  • AOA

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: Food Products
    11-20-16 18:51:58
  • Is caprina soap halal - Shehana
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-20-16 12:35:52
  • Assalamulakum, I just Wanna know, I visited popeye's lousiana chicken in Canada and ask them about there Hala status. They showed me ISNA halal certificate. Then my friend said it is not halal. Kindly can you guide me is it halal or not??? - Danial
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-20-16 04:26:32
  • i bought peanut butter from freshco and then i read the ingred's its bit confusing for me they mention some substances but dont mention if its from animal or veg can someone help - navaab
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it flavors which are made with hidden alcohol then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-18-16 14:26:27
  • What are the juices which are halal ? for example any juice from OASIS, DELMONTE, minute maid, tropicana or any other company - sahil khan
  • AOA

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: Food Products
    11-17-16 08:27:42
  • I was wondering if beef bone extract is halal? I was looking at this ingredients list of a Korean spicy cup Raman and it mentions beef bone extract so I was wondering if it was halal or not, thank you - B.K
  • AOA

    MCG ulema do not consider Non Zabiha beef as Halal so beef bone extract is not Halal. Another they can use alcohol as a extracting solvent.


    Category: Food Products
    11-15-16 16:41:24
  • Is macdonald fries are haram if yes then why ? They claim they use veggie oil and is tim horton bagels are halal? Let me know asap Thanks - Saym
  • AOA

    McDonald French Fries are made with Natural Flavor which may contain hidden alcohol. So it is a Mashbooh product. Tim Horton Bagels are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    11-14-16 22:52:24
  • Are modified milk ingredients Halal? Would "partially hydrogenated soybean oil with mono and di-glycerides" be Halal? - Leanne
  • AOA

    Modified Milk Ingredients are only Halal if there is a kosher symbol such as COR or MK on the food package containing modified milk ingredients. Same thing with Mono & Diglycerides.


    Category: General Question
    11-14-16 14:02:53
  • I have a question on Nescafe Rich instant coffee (170g) is halal or haram? As well as soft drinks like 7up and pepsi. - M.raja
  • AOA

    Nescafe Rich Coffee is made with 100% coffee without any ingredients then it is Halal and if there flavor then it is not Halal. Pepsi is Halal and 7UP is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    11-14-16 12:07:06
  • I have noticed recently that Beatrice Milk Bags has no Kosher symbol on them. Please check before you pick this brand - Aziz mohi
  • AOA

    Milk from any brand in Canada or USA is Halal without kosher symbol if it 100% milk.


    Category: Food Products
    11-14-16 06:05:30
  • nestle chocolates twix (10 gm) and mars (13 gm) are halal or not manufactured from Canada? - hareem butt
  • AOA

    Twix in Canada is made by Mars company not Nestle and it is Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-14-16 01:15:39
  • Is black Diamond cheddar cheese halal in slices of whole? - Sana
  • AOA

    All Black Diamond Cheeses are not because there is no kosher COR or MK on the package.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-13-16 18:43:17
  • I want to ask about cheddar cheese Armstrong and kraft hala or not ? - Nouran
  • AOA

    Kraft and Armstron cheddar cheeses are not Halal because there is no Kosher symbol such as COR or MK on the package.


    Category: Food Products
    11-12-16 20:19:07
  • Is aero halal or haram? if it is haram why is it haram? - Safa
  • AOA

    None of Aero are Halal.

    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    haram Aero Bubbles, Smarties Frozen Treat Nestle Confectionary Glaze Food Basic Supermarket 2014-08-10
    haram Aero Chocolate Chocolate Nestle No Halal or Kosher Symbol Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    haram Aero Frozen Treat Frozen Treat Nestle No Halal or Kosher Symbol Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16

    Category: General Question
    11-12-16 08:01:26
  • French vanilla from Tim Horton is acceptable for muslim to drink or not - Masood
  • AOA

    No, it is made with Haram alcohol.


    Category: Food Products
    11-11-16 17:51:22
  • Is Oasis Blueberry Pomegranate Juice halal or not and also Ridgies original krinkle cut chips are halal or not - sahil
  • AOA

    Oasis Blueberry Pomegranate Juice is not Halal because it is made with alcohol containing natural flavor. I have no information on Ridgies.

     


    Category: Food Products
    11-11-16 09:36:48
  • ├Ś is australian meat halal in costco - Nada
  • AOA

    Canadian Halal do not recommend Muslims to consume Australian Halal meat because when package brake down they repack in the area where pork is procees at Costco meat deperatment.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-09-16 22:37:22
  • do the fruitee gumme, peach candies, have beef gelitan or prok gelatin - yghju
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.

    Word Gummies is No No for Muslim Consumers

    There are many products candies, multivitamins, Drunken Gummies made with Vodka, Haribo Gummies, Fiber Gummies, Life Saver Gummies, Lemon - Raspberry Gelatin Gummies.

    The common ingredient in all above is gelatin and mostly pork gelatin is used. Some times marshmallow containing pork gelatin is also used.

    So MCG is requesting Muslim Consumers to avoid consuming any product named with Gummies.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-09-16 14:22:31
  • Which cream cheese brand is halal in Canada? - Laila
  • AOA

    Following brands of cream cheese are Halal:

    halal Cream Cheese Spread - Chipotle Cream Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Cream Cheese Spread - Dill Cream Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Cream Cheese Spread - Original Cream Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Cream Cheese Spread Original Cream Cheese Black Diamond   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-05-24
    halal Cream Cheese, Light Cream Cheese, Cream Cheese Spread Cream Cheese Compliments   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-05-24
    halal Light Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Great value   Wal-Mart Super Center 2012-10-16
    halal Light Cream Cheese product Cream Cheese Western   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Original Cream Cheese Product Cream Cheese Western   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Original Cream Cheese Spread Cream Cheese President Choice   No Frill Supermarket 2014-09-30
    halal Original Cream Cheese Spread, Smoked Salmon Cream Cheese Cream Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket 2014-12-29
    halal Original Cream Cheese, Light Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Philadelphia   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-05-24
    halal Original Cream Cheese, Light Original Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Western   No Frill Supermarket 2014-09-30
    halal Regular Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Philadelphia   Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Classic Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Selection   Food Basic Supermarket 2014-04-28
    halal Classic Cream Cheese Spread Cream Cheese Selection   Food Basic Supermarket 2014-04-28
    halal Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Great value   Wal-Mart Super Center 2012-10-16
    halal Cream Cheese Cream Cheese No Name   No Frill Supermarket 2014-09-30
    halal Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Blue Menu   Loblaws Supermarket 2014-12-29

    Category: Ingredients
    11-09-16 11:30:24
  • are the ice creams and shakes served by dairy queen completely certified halal or not? - Mirza
  • AOA

    They are not Halal or Kosher certifed so they are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    11-09-16 10:44:20
  • is vega protein and greens halal. if we don't buy the vanilla flavour which may contain alcohol.? please answer. these are the ingredients for chocolate flavour listed on their website>>Vega Protein Blend (pea protein, SaviSeed [sacha inchi] protein, hemp seed protein, sprouted whole grain brown rice protein), Dutch cocoa powder, natural chocolate flavor, Vega Green Blend (organic alfalfa grass powder, spinach powder, broccoli powder, organic kale powder), papaya concentrate powder (contains naturally occurring enzymes), stevia leaf extract, xanthan gum. - zeeshan
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because alcohol is used in natural chocolate flavor. Stevia leaf extract is not Halal because alcohol is used to extract stevia extract.


    Category: Ingredients
    11-09-16 08:35:48
  • Salam is this almond milk from Silk halal? The ingredients are Ingredients: Organic Almondmilk (Filtered Water, Organic Almonds), Organic Cane Sugar, Contains 2% or less of: Vitamin and Mineral Blend (Calcium Carbonate, Vitamin E Acetate, Vitamin A Palmitate, Vitamin D2), Sea Salt, Organic Locust Bean Gum, Gellan Gum. - Suma
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if there is Kosher symbo OU on the package.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-08-16 19:17:44
  • Caltrate is halal - Hena
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    11-05-16 20:39:55
  • French vanilla coffee is halal in timhorton - aisha
  • AOA

    It is not a Halal coffee.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-05-16 16:59:36
  • is the fontana juice brand halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it contains natural flavor then it is not Halal because alcohol is used as a hidden ingredient in natural flavor.


    Category: General Question
    11-05-16 09:41:23
  • Cheese (milk, modified milk ingredients, bacterial culture, salt, calcium chloride, microbial enzyme, lipase), modified milk ingredients, water, sodium citrate and/or sodium phosphate, salt, potassium sorbate, citric acid, colour, soy lecithin. This cheese ingredients halal or haram - Mahwish
  • AOA

    If it does have kosher symbo (such as COR or MK)l on the packagethen it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    11-05-16 05:27:40
  • I am looking for a list of halal medications that could be given during pregnancy, such as prenatals, anti-nausea meds, etc. - Karen Palin
  • AOA

    Following are Halal prenatal vitamins:

    Search results for the term: prenatal

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Prenatal Caps, Prenatal Tabs, Omega-3 Premium 180’s with Fish Gelatin Softgel   Prenatal Vitamins Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Zahlers Kosher Total One Prenatal 120 Capsules   Prenatal Vitamins Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com 10-26-13
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Prenatal Caps One Per Day 120 MaxiCaps   Prenatal Vitamins Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Prenatal Caps Once Daily 90 Vegetarian Capsules   Prenatal Vitamins Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Zahlers Kosher Total One Prenatal 60 Capsules   Prenatal Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Landau Kosher Prenatal 250 TAB   Prenatal Vitamins Landau Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

    For Nausea medicimne it should be tablets and ask pharmacy whether any animal derived ingredients are used.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-04-16 18:05:54
  • Is Kirkland Signature cheese (Mozzarella and Chider) pizza is halal. - MOEED IQBAL
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. But there Halal Mozzaralla cheese are listed on our website.


    Category: Food Products
    11-04-16 17:56:40
  • I do not know if jamba juice is halal. Please let me know if it is or is not. Thanks - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because they are made with alcohol containing flavors.


    Category: Food Products
    11-04-16 16:46:30
  • is creamy chocolaty chill halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-03-16 18:16:11
  • AOA.. President's Choice Vegetable Samosas .. Ingredients FILLING: POTATOES, CARROTS, GREEN PEAS, ONIONS, CANOLA OIL, SPICES, SALT, CILANTRO, MANGO POWDER. PASTRY: WATER, ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR, SALT, WHITE VINEGAR. BROWNED IN CANOLA OIL. TAMARIND SAUCE: WATER, TAMARIND PASTE (TAMARIND, WATER, SALT), SUGAR, SALT, SPICES, CITRIC ACID, XANTHAN GUM. is it halal? - Yousaf Jamal
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    11-02-16 12:30:12
  • is the signal gel fresco toothpaste made in uk halal or not? - nazia najib
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-01-16 19:13:22
  • I have aquestion regarding Pizza hut cheese or pizza is halal or not. - razia arif
  • AOA

    It is mashbooh and do not recommend for Muslims.


    Category: Food Products
    11-01-16 18:02:58
  • Nestle coffee crisp in Vancouver Canada is halal or haram because there are 3686 ingredients yeast, polyglycerol and polyricinoleat are in it. - Gulfam Asif
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it flavors which are made with hidden alcohol then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-01-16 16:12:49
  • AOA.. ALIMENTS IN CUISIN RISOTTO, ASPARAGUS & PEA (300g) INGREDIENTS RISOTTO RICE (WATER, ARBORIO RICE, SUNFLOWER OIL), SAUCE (MILK INGREDIENTS, WATER, MUSHROOMS, CHEESE MIXTURE, SUNFLOWER OIL, ONION, MODIFIED CORNSTARCH, LEMON JUICE, MUSHROOMS EXTRACT, MALTODEXTRIN, SALT, GARLIC SUGAR, SPICES), PEAS, GREEN ASPARAGUS, FRIED ONION (ONION, SUNFLOWER OIL). CONTAINS: MILK, WHEAT... is it halal - Yousaf Jamal
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If alcohol is used as extracting solvent in Mushroom extract then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    11-01-16 14:55:29
  • AOA.. PRESIDENT'S CHOICE BLUE MENU BULGAR QUINOA & CHICK PEAS .. ingredients.. INGREDIENTS VEGETABLES (RED BELL PEPPERS, CARROTS, GRILLED EGGPLANT), GRAINS (BULGUR, WHOLE GRAIN RED QUINOA (CONTAINS SALT)), SAUCE (WATER, EXTRA VIRGIN OLIVE OIL, SALT, LEMON JUICE, VEGETABLE STOCK (CONCENTRATED VEGETABLE JUICE (CARROTS, ONIONS, LEEKS), WATER, SPICES), GARLIC, SPICES, XANTHAN GUM, GUAR GUM, OREGANO, SPICE EXTRACT), CHICKPEAS, WATER, RAISINS (CONTAIN SUNFLOWER OIL), DEHYDRATED TOMATOES, HERBS. is it halal - Yousaf Jamal
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If alcohol is used in spice extract then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    11-01-16 14:54:18
  • assalamoalaikum..AMYS PALAK PANEER .. following are ingredients.. is it halal? INGREDIENTS ORGANIC BASMATI RICE, ORGANIC SPINACH, ORGANIC ONIONS, FILTERED WATER, PANEER (PASTEURIZED MILK, CITRIC ACID, CALCIUM CHLORIDE), ORGANIC KIDNEY BEANS, ORGANIC TOMATO PUREE, EXPELLER PRESSED SAFFLOWER OIL, SPICES, ORGANIC GARLIC, SEA SALT, ORGANIC JALAPENO PEPPERS, ORGANIC CORN STARCH, TURMERIC. CONTAINS STATEMENT: MILK... - Yousaf Jamal
  • AOA

    It is a Halal product.


    Category: Food Products
    11-01-16 14:52:47
  • Assalamoalaikum. AMYS MATTAR PANEER. folllowing are ingredients..is it halal? INGREDIENTS ORGANIC BASMATI RICE, ORGANIC ONIONS, ORGANIC PEAS, ORGANIC GARBANZO BEANS, ORGANIC TOMATOES, FILTERED WATER, PANEER (MILK, CITRIC ACID, CALCIUM CHLORIDE), EXPELLER PRESSED SAFFLOWER OIL, SPICES, ORGANIC CARROTS, SEA SALT, ORGANIC GARLIC, ORGANIC CORN STARCH, TURMERIC, PAPRIKA. CONTAINS STATEMENT: MILK.. jazakallah - Yousaf Jamal
  • AOA

    It is a Halal product.


    Category: Food Products
    11-01-16 14:51:36
  • Assalamoalaikum.. PRESIDENT'S CHOICE SPRING ROLLS, VEGETABLE in loblaws... following are ingredients.. plz tell is it halal? INGREDIENTS FILLING: CARROTS, ONIONS, CABBAGE, MUNG BEAN NOODLES (MUNG BEAN STARCH, WATER), TARO, MUNG BEANS (CONTAIN WATER), SEASONING SAUCE (SOY SAUCE, WATER, FRUCTOSE SYRUP, SALT), WHITE VINEGAR, WATER, SUGAR, CORN STARCH, SESAME OIL (CONTAINS SOYBEAN OIL), SPICES, SALT, GARLIC POWDER. WRAPPER: WATER, ENRICHED WHEAT FLOUR, SALT, MODIFIED PALM OIL. BROWNED IN MODIFIED PALM OIL. SAUCE: SUGAR, WATER, PLUM PASTE (PLUMS, SALT, WATER), WHITE VINEGAR, LIME JUICE, CORN STARCH, CHILI PEPPERS, CITRIC ACID, GARLIC.. jazakallah - Yousaf Jamal
  • AOA

    This is not a Halal product because it contains soy sauce which contains 2-3% alcohol.

    From our FAQ:

    What are the ingredients of Haram Soy Sauce:

    The Naturally Brewed Soy is the Haram soy sauce. It is made just like wine containing 2-3% alcohol. The ingredients list contains Wheat, Soy and other ingredients. Food companies do not mention Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce under the ingredients statement. They just mention soy sauce but within parenthesis they write Wheat and Soy. This is the only way to find a Haram Soy Sauce.

    What are the ingredients of Halal Soy Sauce:

    All purpose soy sauce or non naturally brewed soy sauce is a Halal soy sauce made from water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup and sodium benzoate. La Choy All Purpose Soy sauce is a Halal Soy Sauce.


    Category: Food Products
    11-01-16 14:50:27
  • Kindly please send me halal choclate list and cheez list - Najam
  • AOA

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-01-16 14:41:16
  • malt barley syrup is it halal? thanks - Sihame
  • AOA

    It is a Halal ingredient.


    Category: Food Products
    11-01-16 14:07:41
  • Is Red Wine Extract Herbal Supplemen HALAL? - Fred
  • AOA

    It is a Haram supplement.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-01-16 13:52:58
  • Is red wine extract 8:1, an ingredient of a nutrient suppliment HALAL? - Fred
  • AOA

    Red wine extract is a Haram ingredient. Any wine product is Haram in Islam because wine is a intoxicant and every intoxicant is Haram. Please stay away from Haram wine products.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-01-16 13:49:44
  • Is pizza pizza cheese halal you know as they offer halal pizza - essatahir
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    10-31-16 18:47:14
  • is vegetables grown using pig manure be considered haram or halaal.A halaal authority in Mauritius informed me that fertiliser does not matter for growing vegetable and I have serious doubt on this opinion.please let me know the real facts. - Abdool Rajack
  • AOA

    They are telling the truth. All vegetable grown on any fertilizer applied to earth is Halal because they decompose in the eart. Earth has lot of thing to decompse any thing added to it.


    Category: Food Products
    10-31-16 10:29:18
  • is the 'signal' gel fresco toothpaste halal or not? - nazia
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-30-16 19:54:22
  • Assalamoalaikum... I wanted to know whether vegetable samosa and vegetable rolls by President choice halal? - Yousaf Jamal
  • AOA

    I need need to the ingredients of them.


    Category: Food Products
    10-29-16 13:44:48
  • Assalamu Alaikum, Is Oreo Baking Crumbs halal? Thanks Wahida - Wahida
  • AOA

    You have to provide me the ingredients list and kosher symbol if any on the package.


    Category: Ingredients
    10-27-16 08:32:32
  • IVO salmon oil is halal or not - Smeera
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.

    Halal Fish Oil:

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 5
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA Maxigel   Fish Oil Maxi Health   05-05-14
    halal Omega 3 Premium Fish Oil Maximum Strength EPA/DHA 180 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin)   Fish oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-26-16 17:07:23
  • Asalamualakium, I hope you are well. I was wondering if Sparking Non- Alcoholic Red Grape Drink from "Pure Heaven" is halal. (In Ingredients, preparation etc.) Thank You - Sarah Yusuf
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-26-16 14:54:47
  • Is the Boston cream donut haram or halal - Talha
  • AOA

    If it is not have kosher certified then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    10-25-16 17:45:26
  • Please tell me about cracker barrel cheese is halal? here is the link http://www.crackerbarrelcheese.com/ - Salman
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    10-24-16 22:06:27
  • is saputo pizza mozzarella cheese halal? - sadaf
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. Kosher symbol likes COR or MK.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    10-24-16 13:50:22
  • Kirkland children multivitamin gummies is halal - Imran
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.

    Word Gummies is No No for Muslim Consumers

    There are many products candies, multivitamins, Drunken Gummies made with Vodka, Haribo Gummies, Fiber Gummies, Life Saver Gummies, Lemon - Raspberry Gelatin Gummies.

    The common ingredient in all above is gelatin and mostly pork gelatin is used. Some times marshmallow containing pork gelatin is also used.

    So MCG is requesting Muslim Consumers to avoid consuming any product named with Gummies.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: General Question
    10-23-16 16:00:39
  • Maggi Chicken Stock cube, HALAL, wholesale place in toronto - canadian
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because chickens are not hand slaughtered by a Muslim.


    Category: Food Products
    10-23-16 14:47:51
  • aslamualaikum, is orville redenbacher's popcorn chips halal - zainab
  • AOA

    Please search it on our website.


    Category: Food Products
    10-23-16 13:50:24
  • is pangasius hypophthalmus fish is hala or haram - shafqaat
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    10-23-16 07:59:56
  • What are the kosher symbols used in Canadian food products? - sanobar
  • AOA

    COR and MK.


    Category: Food Products
    10-22-16 17:41:31
  • Which puff pastry dough is halal in canada? - Mrs.Fahad
  • AOA

    You can find out on our website. Please search it.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-22-16 16:13:49
  • burger king is offering a mozzerlla cheese sticks ,are they halal or not - ali
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified.


    Category: Food Products
    10-21-16 15:37:58
  • Is kit kat halal? I checked the ingredients but I m still not sure about it. - Omaima
  • AOA

    Kit Kat is not Halal in Canada because it does not have kosher symbol but it is Halal in USA.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-21-16 15:31:38
  • Is Armstrong Old fort Cheese is Halal? - Farhana Inam
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    10-21-16 09:44:02
  • : asalamalaikum,almost 99%of cheeses have enzymes.are they permissible to eat.please advise.may allah reward you .anisa - Anisa
  • AOA

    No, only thos e made with microbial rennet but sheese has to be Halal or Kosher certified. There are Halal cheese listed on our website.


    Category: Ingredients
    10-20-16 15:13:42
  • Is bovine cartillage used for joints supplement halal? - Norzima
  • AOA

    They are obtained from non zabiha beef so it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    10-19-16 18:02:36
  • ASA. Is Tom Horton's cream of broccoli soup is halal or no?? Jazakallah. - Asif Shamim
  • AOA

    It is not Halal made with non Halal ingredients.


    Category: Food Products
    10-18-16 14:13:38
  • is stringable pizza mozzararella cheese hala by no name company - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-18-16 06:38:14
  • I just wanted to make sure since i saw it contains concentrated grape juice , also I wanted to see if it contains other ingredients that are not halal - Ahmed
  • AOA

    I do not understand please provide brand name and product name.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-16-16 13:25:09
  • The Kraft Swiss Singles regular processed cheese slices are halal or haram?? Please mention the halal cheeses slices brands. - Sobia
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.

    There Halal cheese listed on our website and which supermarket carry it.

     

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.

     


    Category: Food Products
    10-15-16 12:56:30
  • I want to it reese's butter cup but i dont know it is halal or not - Aiman Syah
  • AOA

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: Food Products
    10-15-16 00:46:26
  • Where exactly can I buy halal and al zebha meat and chicken in Kingston-Ontario? - Ghazal
  • AOA

    Please go to www.zabihah.com

     


    Category: General Question
    10-13-16 21:30:03
  • Is heinz worcestershire sauce halal? - bulent
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    10-13-16 15:07:41
  • Is KitKat in Canada halal? - Nafeema Bacchus
  • AOA

    It is not Halal in Canada but Halal only in USA.


    Category: Food Products
    10-13-16 11:27:35
  • Assalamualikum Is sour keys halal or no please answer. Jasakullah - Haaris
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    10-12-16 17:00:14
  • is culturing yeast with raisin or grape juice as dough starter halal? raisin/grape's skin has this powdery substance so called 'yeast starter'. They are usually kept in a jar of water then let it sit for a few days or so. Is this process is the same as making wine? Please explain. - Fa
  • AOA

    Probably.


    Category: General Question
    10-11-16 03:26:10
  • Is that Nature's Bounty Prenatal Vitamin halal? - Reza
  • AOA

    They are not Halal. Please buy these Halal prenatal vitamins:

    Search results for the term: prenatal

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Prenatal Caps, Prenatal Tabs, Omega-3 Premium 180’s with Fish Gelatin Softgel   Prenatal Vitamins Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Zahlers Kosher Total One Prenatal 120 Capsules   Prenatal Vitamins Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com 10-26-13
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Prenatal Caps One Per Day 120 MaxiCaps   Prenatal Vitamins Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Prenatal Caps Once Daily 90 Vegetarian Capsules   Prenatal Vitamins Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Zahlers Kosher Total One Prenatal 60 Capsules   Prenatal Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Landau Kosher Prenatal 250 TAB   Prenatal Vitamins Landau Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

    Category: Food Products
    10-10-16 01:59:44
  • is high liner frozen fish halal - abdelmoumene
  • AOA

    If it 100% fish wild caught fish then it is Halal but if it farm raised then it is not Halal.

    TITLE: PLEASE AVOID CONSUMEING THE FARM RAISED FISH

    There are two types of fish available in supermarkets and seafood restaurants.

    A. Wild Caught Fish: Fish caught on high seas or running rivers which are 100% Halal.

    B. Farm Raised Fish: Fish raised on fish farm feeding them the fish meals. There are many types of fish meal feed to farm raised fish. They are as follows:

    Here are the composition of FISH MEALS FEED TO FARM RAISED FISH

    1. Fish Meal Ingredients:
    Poultry Meal, Fish Meal, Poultry Fat, Fish Oil, Whole Wheat, Soybean Bean Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Feather Meals, Rapeseed Oil, Vitamin A Acetate, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin E Supplement, Inosital, Calcium Peniolnate, Riboflavin, Nicotine Acid, Thiamonitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin B12 supplement, D Biotin, Folic Acid, Ascorbyl Polyphosphate, Menadione, Sodium Bisulphate Complex, (vitamin K), A mineral Premix containing Manganese Sulphate, Zinc Melnionine, Calcium Iodale, Copper Sulphate, Sodium Solonile, Vitamin E supplement, DL Melnionine and Ethoxyquin (Antioxidant.(US Patented by Skretting Company of Canada.

    2.  Byproduct feed – in Canada, farmed salmon can be fed byproducts from poultry processing such as feathers, necks and intestines;
    Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) – farmed salmon can be fed genetically modified soy and canola;
    The environmental impacts of growing genetically modified organisms has not been adequately assessed.

    3. They use Antibiotics and hormones in fish meal on the farmed side fish.

    Analysis:
    1. We do not know which farm use which fish meal.
    2. They use antibiotic and hormones whose sources are mostly from pork.
    3. According to many ulema eating of chicken feathers is not Halal. Use of non zabiha intestine is not Halal.
    4. If feeds includes vitamins the source of vitamins is unknown and it may be from pork. Fat based vitamins could be made from pork fat.
    5. Fish meal is not Halal or Kosher certified.

    MCG recommend Muslims to find first whether fish is wild caught or farm raised then if it is farm raised then avoid buy farm raised fish from supermarkets or eating farm raised at restaurants such as Red Lobster.
     


     


    Category: General Question
    10-08-16 18:39:08
  • Are nestle chocolates halal in Canada. Ex: areo, smatries,kitkat, - Jad
  • AOA

    THEy are not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-08-16 13:19:20
  • Icecream truck cones are halal - Fatima
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-07-16 14:02:01
  • Is Black Diamond cheese Marble cheddar halal - Shahzadi asma
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-07-16 11:26:45
  • Is Smucker's Sugar Free Orange Marmalade free alcohol? I just know that this product is kosher product - syuhairah
  • AOA

    If no alcohol is used during the processing of PECTIN then it is Halal otherwise not. Please use Bonne Mamam Jam and Jelly Halal products.


    Category: Food Products
    10-07-16 06:59:04
  • Is Brandt Smoked Turkey Drumsticks halal? Best Regards Shakir - Shakir Zia
  • AOA

    If it is slaughtered by Muslim then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    10-07-16 06:40:24
  • 476is it hala for cabury chocolate - Rizwana
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-03-16 18:49:29
  • I want gmp licence help me - shahul TA
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-03-16 08:15:54
  • Is "Bertolli┬« Balsamic Vinegar " Halal? - Hawra
  • AOA

    Balsalmic vinegar from any brand is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    10-02-16 11:48:45
Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 57 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 853 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 1,601 ]
  •  General Question  [ 541 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 291 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 526 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 42 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 311 ]

Lj Web Management, Inc.