Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:





Recent Questions:

  • Re: Liqueur chocolate (not liquor)
    Assalam Alaikum Brother Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed, Im my posts, I talked about chocolate liqueur (ends with queur) not chocolate liquor (ends with quor). The chocolate liqueur contains alcochol. This substance is in the chocolate ice cream of Laura Secord. This is confirmed by a Laura Secord operator. This substance is different from chocolate liquor that you are referring to. The liquor does not contain alcohol. Please refer to the Wiki links that I provided to see the difference. My sincere regards. - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum Sorry, I over look the spelling of liqueur vs liquor. The word liquor has more than one meaning including distill alcoholic beverages to simply semifluid or semiplastic condition of the material which do not have to do with alcoholic beverages such wood liquor and chocolate liquor. The liquor is pure material such as distilled alcoholic beverages brandy or wisky or chocolate liquor which contain 100% chocolate. On the other hand liqueur is a alcoholic liquor which is sweet and flavored, it is a combination of severla material such as chocolate liqueur a alcoholic beverage to which chocolate is added as flavor. So chocolate liqueur is not 100% but a combination of alcoholic liquor and chocolate. It is confusing so we have to be very careful about reading the ingredients statement of any food product. My research in 28 US supermarkets shows only few brands of ice cream such as Haagen Dazs or Ben & Jerry may have one item such Rum Raisin with alcoholic liquor but none of chocolate flavor ice cream brand has chocolate liqueur as an ingredient in USA. My advice is not to consumer Laura Secord products because they are not Halal due to lack of kosher certification. There is no word of kosher on their website. This is not a place for ice cream such as Baskin Robbins ice cream stores which carry 5 Halal flavor of ice cream without alcohol. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 03:02:19
  • Natural Vanilla Extract

    Recently, I came across Maltesers while visiting an Arabic Muslim country. They were labeled in Arabic as well as English. They had an ingredient in them:

    Natural Vanilla Extract.

    I was told this was different then the vanilla extract made with alcohol. Is this true?

    Can you tell me if Vanillin is halal.

    I also saw chocolate bars made in Saudi Arabia, and labeledTitle halal that contained ETHYL VANILLIN. Is this halal?

    - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum I know food laws of USA and Canada, according to Code Of Federal Regulation Vanilla Extract must contain minimum of 35% Ethyl Alcohol otherwise it will not allowed to label as Vanilla Extract under ingredients statement. I never saw in literature that natural vanillin from vanilla beans is extracted other than Ethyl Alcohol and Water. Extracted natural vanillin is used to make Vanilla Extract and other vanilla flavors. Some companies extract natural vanillin with alcohol then alcohol is evaporated and replace with Halal solvent or liquid. But our Ulema say that as soon as natural vanillin contacted with alcohol, it requires a chemical change to make it Halal otherwise not. Alcohol in natural vanillin never change chemically. I think this what happening in that Muslim country that they evaporating alcohol then replacing with Halal solvent because I do not think they have food laws in their country. Synthetic Vanillin or Synthetic Ethyl Vanillin is a artificial vanillin not natural vanillin which extracted from vanilla beans. Ethyl Vanillin is a differnt chemical form of vanillin. Synthetic vanillin is made either from guaiacol or lignin. Lignin is a derivative of wood or by-product of paper industry. No ethyl alcohol is used in making of synthetic vanillin or Vanillin or ethyl vanillin or synthetic methyl vanillin. So they are Halal ingredients. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:13:15
  • Grape Vinegar
    Recently in a store, owned by Muslims, I saw something called Grape Vinegar (grape juice vinegar). Would this be the same as Wine vinegar? Is grape/ grape juice vinegar halal? They also had apple vinegar. Is this halal? - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum No, it is not same as grape wine vinegar. If grape vinegar is made from grape juice then it is Halal. Wine made from grape then used to make wine vinegar which is not Halal because not all wine is converted to vinegar so there is a left over wine in wine vinegar, second the Haram component of wine the flavor, color etc are not converted to any new things but reamins as is such as in original wine. All the compnents of wine are Haram. Apple vinegar is also Halal. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:12:16
  • pizza hut
    salam alaikum I'm woundering if pizza hut has halal pizza thanks - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum

    Pizza Hut's cheese and crust information listed on our other website www.muslimconsumergroup.com are for USA only but the ingredients for crusts and other items and suppliers are different in Canada, so I need some time to investigate them then Inshallah I will post the results on canadianhalalfoods website.

    Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed


    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:11:11
  • halal soya sauce
    Assalamualaikum Is great value soya sauce halal? Does any one know anything about it? Please tell me about it as soon as possible. - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum If the ingredients of Great Value or any brand of soy sauce start with soy and wheat then it is Naturally Brewed Soy sauce which contains 2-3% ethyl alcohol and it is not a Halal soy sauce. The Halal soy sauce do not have soy and wheat ingredients in it. It is made from Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Corn Syrup, Water and Salt. The name of Halal soy sauce is La Choy brnad's All Purpose Soy Sauce. It is availble in Canadian supermarkets. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:09:56
  • body and hair halal products in canada
    salam alaikum please help me finding body and hair halal products form men and women and kids. shampoo, conditioner, lotionbody, soap gel etc. - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum

    Please go to www.muslimconsumergroup.com then to Non Food Products, find the same products available in Canada and call their 800 numbers. Ask whether any ingredient is made from animal fat or animal, is there any alcohol in fragrance. If the answer they give "No" answer then you can use that skin care product. White Rain, Garnier, Niva, Costco Saop are not made with animal derived ingredients in USA but I do not know in Canada.

    Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed


    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:08:54
  • Tim Hortons Donuts
    if yes, which ones? There is general understanding that they don't use animal derived ingredients. Please provide details. Wassalam Kamran - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum Tim Hortons claimed on their website in Canada that all their bakery products are free from animal fat, gelatin, rennet, L-Cysteine is from synthetic source, so only thing you can eat those bakery products which are made without flavor and alcohol. Alcohol is used as a hidden ingredient in majority of natural or artificial flavor. Since they do not provide ingredients statement of their bakery products, so I can not say which one is Halal. Majority of donuts are made with flavor, majority of flavor are made with alcohol. Please findout any chocolate based donut is made with flavor. Majority of Glaze are made with flavor containing alcohol. It should be avoided. Please find Choloate Dip Donut or Chocolate Glazed Donut(Chocolate donut is made with flavor then ask them to make without glaze. These are only chocolate donut Tim Hortons have on their menu. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:07:50
  • msg from canadadry company regarding their products...!!

    I recently contacted the canadadry company asking them about the alcohol level in their sodas like ginger ale. They replied back with the following msg:

    Thank you for contacting us about Canada Dry Ginger Ale. Your comments and inquiries are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about our brands.

    Some flavored beverages contain alcohols that are used as solvents for the flavor. These alcohols are derived from a fermentation process. This is true for most colas, ginger ales, root beers and other flavored beverages. However, during the production process, any trace of alcohol evaporates, and the finished product does not contain any. While our sodas are all alcohol free, they are however not Halal-certified due to this fact.

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We hope that you will continue to purchase and enjoy our products.

    Sincerely,

    Consumer Relations


    Now my question is, is it okay to drink their products since they said the alcohol evaporates and the end product doesn't contain any amount of alcohol in it!!

    - Anonymous user
  • AOA Ulema said that unless alcohol changed over to new thing during processing, minimum amount of alcohol or alcohol evaporate during processing does not qualify it to be a Halal product for Muslim consumption. So Canada Dry Ginger Ale is not a Halal product. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:06:21
  • Starbucks kosher certified products

    Salam Aliacom,
    Shall we considered the Starbucks kosher certified products as indicated on the below linl HALAL.
    http://www.kosherstarbucks.com/Lists.asp

    - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum Kosher means not Halal always, it has to meet the Halal requirements. Since alcohol is allowed in kosher certified products. So we have to examine complete ingredients list of each products whether alcohol is used as a hidden ingredient in flavor. It has to be verified by calling Starbucks and asking them whether they use alcohol as a solvent in flavor or not. The information about what solvent used in a flavor is appeared in the specification of any flavor. The specifications are maintained by QA department of a food company and consumer department of a company has no access to specification, so they have to find out from QA department. Beside alcohol in flavor there other 15 ingredients which are listed at ALERT section of this website if one of them present in Starbuck Coffee then that particular flavored coffee is not Halal. Since the said website do not provides complete ingredients list. We only recommend their regular coffee because it is 100% coffee no other ingredients except water is used in the regular Starbuck coffeee. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:04:59
  • Are Zabihah products doubtful?
    I know Zabihah products are certified 'Halal' by Islamic Society of North America (ISNA). But in our locality few hardcore Tablighi peoples are claiming that these products are not permissible, some says these products are makrooh. The 2nd group says that the stunning process of the chicken may cause direct death to the chicken and that's why it should be makrooh. Can you please tell which opinion to be followed? JazakAllahu khairan - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum MCG do not consider machine slaughtered Halal animal as Halal according to our Ulema. ISNA Canada consider machine slaughter as Halal. Regarding stunning MCG do not consider stunning as Halal. No stunning is allowed in Canada and USA for Kosher meat then why Muslims insist on stunning. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:02:24
  • Flora Natural Health Products

    As-salam alaiykum wa rehmatullahi wa barakatahu,

    Can these natural health products be consumed by Muslims in Canada?

    Salus® Kindervital Children's Multivitamin
    http://www.florahealth.com/flora/home/C … 80_LBL.htm


    Salus® Floradix® Formula
    http://www.florahealth.com/NR/exeres/19 … 8B9968.htm

    Ajaz

    - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum These natural health products are Halal only when they have a kosher symbol on the package such as COR, MK, OU and no alcohol in flavor. Alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavor. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 02:01:20
  • Mike-Ikes and Cadbury's Hot Chocolate
    Mike-Ikes Jelly Beans and Cadbury's Hot Chocolate halal ? - Anonymous user
  • AOA Mike-Ike is not Halal because it is coated with confectionar glaze which is made by dissolving shellac in alcohol. Jelly Beans is Halal oly if no alcohol is used in flavor and if they carries kosher symbol on the package. For Cadbury, please write "Cadbury" under search then you will get the answers. Cadbury's Hot Chocolate is Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:39:39
  • voortman cookies
    Assalamualaikum In your website you said that voortman cookies are halal because they are Kosher and no alcohol in the flavor. But how long we can be sure about the Halal ness of this product since they are not under supervision of any Halal authority . When they do any changes in the ingredients they won't inform muslim consumer. Wassalam - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum The Halal status of ingredients in Voortman cookies remained Halal as long it has kosher symbol on the package even if they change the ingredients they are always used kosher certified ingredients. It is very important that kosher certification must meet the Halal requirements otherwise it will not be Halal. There is noHalal certified cookies in USA and Canada. Food companies are not interested in Halal certificaion. There are very few Halal certified products in USA and Canada. Alcohol in flavor may change or may not change, in that case you as a consumer has to call their 800 number to verify it on a six to one year base. In order to consume Halal foods Muslims should also help Halal food websites like many other Muslims help.
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:38:16
  • sensodyne Toothpaste
    I have a question regarding sensodyne toothpaste, the whitening and tarter fighting version. I called their company and they said they don’t have any animal derived ingredients, to which Muslim consumer group also acknowledged. My real question is, does this product contain any alcohol? mainly in the fragrance. And what are the main ingredients that are usually harram in toothpastes? - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum

    Many skin care companies refused to answer the question about presence or absence of alcohol as a solvent or carrier in fragrance or flavor in case of toothpastes. We can not force them to answer our question. In such case I recommend you to contact your Islamic scholar and explain the situation and ask his advice.

    Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed


    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:37:19
  • Benefibre
    You state benefibre is halal. There is no kosher symbol on the powder form.... - Anonymous user
  • AOA Please provide evidence where we put Benefiber as Halal. We do mentioned META MUCIL POWDERS AND CITRUCEL POWDER FIBER LAXATIVES ARE HALAL on Canadianhalafoods website. If you search Benefibre or Benefiber on our global search you will get the above laxitives. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:34:08
  • Disodium inosinate and disodium guanylate
    Is this halal. It is found in many hips and snacks, as well as soups. They are labelled as kosher. But I heard these are grown on Brewers Yeast. How are we to know?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA They are not made with brewer yeast extract but made with sugar fermentation with Coryne Bacterium in Indonesia and Halal certified by MUI. As per literature, they also obtained through Sardines or seaweeds, topioca starch. Lays Chips in Pakistan contain these ingredients which obtained from topioca starch and it is also Halal certified in Pakistan. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:28:15
  • Any halal cheese?
    As salamu alaikum. I would like to know if there is any brand for mozarella, cheddar or feta cheese that is halal. JazakAllahu khair. - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum

    There are no Halal Mozzarella, Cheddar and Feta cheeses in Toronto's supermarkets. Sorrento cheese company Buffalo, NY based has a kosher certified Mozzarella cheese but it is not available in Toronto. The only place you can get Miller, Migdal brand of kosher cheeses at kosher foods stores in Toronto. You can go to yahoo.com to find their telephone numbers and addresses.

    Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed


    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:26:48
  • Not all labelled Kosher products are Kosher
    Careful when buying Kosher products in Canada. Read below: Q: Why do many products in the United States have an OU or other acceptable symbol on such products as cookies and granola bars, but the same brands are not under supervision in Canada? A: One of the main reasons for this is that the product is made by a different manufacturer who does not have kosher endorsement. A good example of this is the Kit Kat chocolate bar. Kit Kat in the United States is made by Hershey Foods Corporation, which has the Orthodox Union certification. Here in Canada, it is made by the Cadbury Schweppes group which does not have kosher endorsement for Kit Kat. The formula may be the same but the raw materials and sourcing of the ingredients may not. The glycerin used here would most probably be from an animal source whereas, the American kosher product would use glycerin from a kosher source. - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum Good advice to Canadian Muslims. But there are few other things: 1. The line may not be kosher certified for Kit Kat in Canada. The glycerin is not used in Kit Kat but two different emulsifiers are used, Soy Lecithin a Halal emulsifier and PGPR(Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate)obtained from castor beans a Halal source. Other non Kosher chocoltae products containing animal fat ingredients may be made on the same line. 2. May be all ingredients are not Kosher certified. 3. May be they non kosher hidden ingredients 4. May be they add non Kosher rework products to Kit Kat. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:25:22
  • Halal Baby milk ?
    Asslmu alykum, I want to know if there is any Halal Baby milk for kids in Canada ? Milk for new born baby. I live in Ottawa Ontario. Jazak Allah - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum Please go to Price Chopper supermarket section of this website and you will find Halal Similac infant formula. Similac in Canada is Halal but not in USA because of presnce of Nucleotide which obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:23:32
  • Duncan Hines Products
    Are the Brownies and Frosting by Duncan Hines Halal or not? I cannot figure this out as per the last alert regarding Duncan Hines products. - Anonymous user
  • AOA Duncan Hine Whipped Vanilla Frosting is Halal because it is made with Halal Vanillin(a artificial flavor). Classic Carrot Cake Mix and Moist Deluxe Chocolate Fudeg Cake Mix are also Halal because they are not made with any flavor. Brownies are not Halal because they use alcohol in the flavor.
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:21:48
  • halal beauty products
    Assalamu alaikom wa rahmatullah, I was wondering if there are any halal creams or moisturizers here in North America and specifically in Canada.With the winter upon us, these things become essential for dry irritated skin.I am also looking for halal chapsticks or lip balm.JAK - Anonymous user
  • You will be able to get them soon. Our uk based company are in the process of certifying as halal ( INSHALLAH) lip balms in various flavours including mint, chocolate, strawberry and many more. All are unique and contain natural ingrediants.
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 01:17:37
  • Halal Soups In Local Stores
    Asalam U A'likum i want to know about Halal Soups in local stores like No Frills and Walmart and other stores like shopper drug mart , please let me know ASAP - Anonymous user
  • AOA We could not find any Halal soup in Price Chopper or No Frills. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    04-23-11 03:46:18
Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 57 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 853 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 1,601 ]
  •  General Question  [ 541 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 291 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 526 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 42 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 311 ]

Lj Web Management, Inc.