Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:





Recent Questions:

  • Where can I buy kosher (or Hebrew National) hot dog wieners in the Kingston, Ontario area? - James Riga
  • Hi

    I have n information but they are not consider Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    05-29-16 15:19:57
  • Asalamu Alykum I contacted the Neilson company about their creams and they said that (Dairy Land) which is here in vancouver BC is owned and operated by them.. Does this mean that the dairy land creams are halah? Please advice.. This is my second time asking about this.. Chazzaka Allah khyra.... - Delovan Abdullah
  • AOA

    It is already listed Neilson Cream products if the ingredients is same and there is a kosher symbol on the package for Dairy Land then it be Halal:

    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal 18% Fresh Table Cream 73 ML. Table Cream Neilson NEILSON 18% FRESH TABLE CREAM473 mL AND 35% WHIPPING CREAM 473mL AND 1LITRE It has a COR (kosher) sign on it, ingredients of 35% whipping cream 473 mL are: CREAM, MILK, SKIM MILK POWDER, CARREGEENAN, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CELLULOSE GUM, POLYSORBATE80, SODIUM CITRATE. It has a MK (kosher) sign on it, ingredients of 35% whipping cream 1 LITRE its ingredients are: CREAM, MILK, SKIM MILK POWDER, CARREGEENAN, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CELLULOSE GUM, POLYSORBATE80, SODIUM CITRATE. It has a COR (kosher) sign on it. 18% FRESH TABLE cream 473 mL its ingredients are: MILK, CREAM, SODIUM CITRATE, SODIUM PHOSPHATE,CARREGEENAN. Here is what they replied when I asked them about source of CARRAGEENAN .Please let me know if it is halal and are you going to add this in Canadian halal list? Please refer to the email chain below AOA, I LIVE IN MISSISSAUGA , CANADA. I EMAILED NEILSON TO INQUIRE ABOUT NEILSON 18% CREAM AND WHIPPING CREAM THEY SAID ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL(IPA) IS USED DURING THE PROCESSING OF CARRAGEEN (PLEASE REFER TO THE EMAIL BELOW). IS NEILSON 35%WHIPPING CREAM AND 18% CREAM HALAL AND CAN BE USED BY MUSLIMS? IF THESE CREAMS ARE HALA ARE YOU GOING TO ADD THESE IN CANADIAN HALAL LIST? Dear Mr. or Ms. Syed: Thank you for your e-mails regarding Neilson Whip Cream and 18% Cream. We do apologize for the lengthy delay in responding to your e-mails. Isopropyl alcohol (IPA) has been used for the precipitation of the carrageenan but the content is low and there should be no or trace amounts of alcohol left after it is dried. We appreciate you contacting us in this regard and we hope this information is helpful. Sincerely, Deborah Consumer Relations Coordinator Marketing Department Saputo Saputo Dairy Products Canada G.P. 6800 Lougheed Highway Burnaby, BC, Canada V5A 1W2 Tel: 1-800-672-8866 FREE / Fax: 604-588-1284 www.saputo.com JAZAKALLAH. - nsyed Food Basic Supermarket 2015-06-04
    halal 35% Whipping Cream 1 Liter Whipping Cream Neilson NEILSON 18% FRESH TABLE CREAM473 mL AND 35% WHIPPING CREAM 473mL AND 1LITRE It has a COR (kosher) sign on it, ingredients of 35% whipping cream 473 mL are: CREAM, MILK, SKIM MILK POWDER, CARREGEENAN, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CELLULOSE GUM, POLYSORBATE80, SODIUM CITRATE. It has a MK (kosher) sign on it, ingredients of 35% whipping cream 1 LITRE its ingredients are: CREAM, MILK, SKIM MILK POWDER, CARREGEENAN, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CELLULOSE GUM, POLYSORBATE80, SODIUM CITRATE. It has a COR (kosher) sign on it. 18% FRESH TABLE cream 473 mL its ingredients are: MILK, CREAM, SODIUM CITRATE, SODIUM PHOSPHATE,CARREGEENAN. Here is what they replied when I asked them about source of CARRAGEENAN .Please let me know if it is halal and are you going to add this in Canadian halal list? Please refer to the email chain below AOA, I LIVE IN MISSISSAUGA , CANADA. I EMAILED NEILSON TO INQUIRE ABOUT NEILSON 18% CREAM AND WHIPPING CREAM THEY SAID ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL(IPA) IS USED DURING THE PROCESSING OF CARRAGEEN (PLEASE REFER TO THE EMAIL BELOW). IS NEILSON 35%WHIPPING CREAM AND 18% CREAM HALAL AND CAN BE USED BY MUSLIMS? IF THESE CREAMS ARE HALA ARE YOU GOING TO ADD THESE IN CANADIAN HALAL LIST? Dear Mr. or Ms. Syed: Thank you for your e-mails regarding Neilson Whip Cream and 18% Cream. We do apologize for the lengthy delay in responding to your e-mails. Isopropyl alcohol (IPA) has been used for the precipitation of the carrageenan but the content is low and there should be no or trace amounts of alcohol left after it is dried. We appreciate you contacting us in this regard and we hope this information is helpful. Sincerely, Deborah Consumer Relations Coordinator Marketing Department Saputo Saputo Dairy Products Canada G.P. 6800 Lougheed Highway Burnaby, BC, Canada V5A 1W2 Tel: 1-800-672-8866 FREE / Fax: 604-588-1284 www.saputo.com JAZAKALLAH. - nsyed Loblaws Supermarket 2015-06-04
    halal 35% Whipping Cream 473 ML Whipping Cream Neilson NEILSON 18% FRESH TABLE CREAM473 mL AND 35% WHIPPING CREAM 473mL AND 1LITRE It has a COR (kosher) sign on it, ingredients of 35% whipping cream 473 mL are: CREAM, MILK, SKIM MILK POWDER, CARREGEENAN, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CELLULOSE GUM, POLYSORBATE80, SODIUM CITRATE. It has a MK (kosher) sign on it, ingredients of 35% whipping cream 1 LITRE its ingredients are: CREAM, MILK, SKIM MILK POWDER, CARREGEENAN, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, CELLULOSE GUM, POLYSORBATE80, SODIUM CITRATE. It has a COR (kosher) sign on it. 18% FRESH TABLE cream 473 mL its ingredients are: MILK, CREAM, SODIUM CITRATE, SODIUM PHOSPHATE,CARREGEENAN. Here is what they replied when I asked them about source of CARRAGEENAN .Please let me know if it is halal and are you going to add this in Canadian halal list? Please refer to the email chain below AOA, I LIVE IN MISSISSAUGA , CANADA. I EMAILED NEILSON TO INQUIRE ABOUT NEILSON 18% CREAM AND WHIPPING CREAM THEY SAID ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL(IPA) IS USED DURING THE PROCESSING OF CARRAGEEN (PLEASE REFER TO THE EMAIL BELOW). IS NEILSON 35%WHIPPING CREAM AND 18% CREAM HALAL AND CAN BE USED BY MUSLIMS? IF THESE CREAMS ARE HALA ARE YOU GOING TO ADD THESE IN CANADIAN HALAL LIST? Dear Mr. or Ms. Syed: Thank you for your e-mails regarding Neilson Whip Cream and 18% Cream. We do apologize for the lengthy delay in responding to your e-mails. Isopropyl alcohol (IPA) has been used for the precipitation of the carrageenan but the content is low and there should be no or trace amounts of alcohol left after it is dried. We appreciate you contacting us in this regard and we hope this information is helpful. Sincerely, Deborah Consumer Relations Coordinator Marketing Department Saputo Saputo Dairy Products Canada G.P. 6800 Lougheed Highway Burnaby, BC, Canada V5A 1W2 Tel: 1-800-672-8866 FREE / Fax: 604-588-1284 www.saputo.com JAZAKALLAH. - nsyed Food Basic Supermarket 2015-06-04

    Search results for the term: Dairy Land

    Total results generated: 2
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    haram Chocolate Milk Chocolate Milk Dairy Land No Halal or Kosher Symbol on the package. No Frill Supermarket 2014-10-01
    haram Lille-Ones Yogurt Yogurt Dairy land No Halal or Kosher Symbol Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16

    Category: E-Numbers
    05-29-16 14:01:33
  • is foremost ice cream halal? - Kim
  • AOA

    New Title Description Date
    What are the requirements of a Halal ice cream

    The following are the requirements of a Halal Ice Cream

    1. It must a have a Kosher symbol which meets the Halal requirements (why not Halal symbol because many  ice cream products with Halal symbol are made with alcohol containing natural or artificial flavor and Halal certifying organizations say that 0.1% or 0.5% alcohol is Halal and it does not make you intoxicated. But there is no Hadith which says 0.1% or 0.5% intoxicant (Alcohol) as Halal.

    2. There should be no natural or artificial listed as ingredient under the ingredients statement. Most liquid natural or artificial flavor are made with alcohol as a solvent. These  alcohol containing liquid natural or artificial flavors  are added to ice cream after pasteurization and cooling process so alcohol in flavors is not subject to heat treatment. Alcohol in ice cream remained as is.

    3. It should not have Vanilla or vanilla flavor or vanilla extract as part of ingredient statement because vanilla or vanilla flavor is obtained by extracting with alcohol from vanilla beans. According to FDA vanilla extract must contain minimum of 35% alcohol otherwise it will not be call as vanilla extract.

    4. It should not ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean speck because it is not real vanilla beans which are very expensive. Ground vanilla bean or Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks in the food industry.

    5. Ice cream should not have Carrageenan as an ingredient because ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol or potassium chloride (KCL) is used during processing of carrageenan and it takes time to investigate what was used during processing.

    6. Ice cream should be free from rum flavor and other liquor because kosher certified product may contain liquor or rum flavor.

    7. Ice cream bars should not have confectionary glaze or resinous glaze as coating on ice cream bars because these glazes are made with shellac dissolve in alcohol.

    8. Ice Cream should not contain any Extract such as Mint Extract in Haagen Daazs Mint Five Ice cream. Alcohol is used in some extract as a extracting solvent.

    There are 8 Halal ice cream in Canadian supermarkets as reported on our website wwww.canadianhalalfoods.com and they do not have flavor in them.

    There is only one Halal soft vanilla ice cream available in USA which is made by Pacific Valley Dairy (Phone number 636-334-4700 www.pvdairy.com, please find out whether it is available in your city). This Halal soft vanilla ice was sold at ISNA convention in 2007 at Chicago. It is Halal because it is kosher certified and made with artificial vanilla flavor with propylene glycol (a Halal solvent) as a solvent according to the company. This soft vanilla ice cream is not available in supermarkets only at food service places.

    02/04/14

    Category: Food Products
    05-28-16 22:14:34
  • Please help me about old spice pure sport high endurance body wash sold at costco canada, does this product has any non halaal animal ingrediants or any ingrediants which are non halaal. - Rahman
  • AOA

    None of Old Spice product is Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-28-16 20:43:40
  • Centrum prenatal vitamin is it halal? - Zara
  • AOA

    None of Centrum Vitamins are Halal. Following are Halal Prenatal vitamins from other brands:

    Search results for the term: Prenatal

    Total results generated: 5
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Landau Kosher Prenatal 250 TAB Prenatal Vitamins Landau Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 Other 2013-09-25
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Prenatal Caps One Per Day 120 MaxiCaps Prenatal Vitamins Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 Other 2013-09-25
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Prenatal Caps Once Daily 90 Vegetarian Capsules Prenatal Vitamins Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 Other 2013-09-25
    halal Prenatal Vitamins Prenatal Vitamins Landau Landau Prenatal 100 TAB ln-725-1 UPC 078328972514 AVAILABLE AT www.koshervitamins.com1-800-645-1899. Other 2013-09-25
    halal Prenatal Vitamins Prenatal Vitamins Maxi Health Maxi Health Maxi One Prenatal 60 TAB MXM-14306 UPC 753406143061 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899 or www.koshervitamins.com Other 2013-09-25

    Category: General Question
    05-28-16 08:56:53
  • Hello, Do you use emailing and phoning head offices in the restaurant to ask them about food that they serve,or visit the restaurants and chick every thing by your self ? Thank you. Thank you very much. - Marwa Ashoor
  • AOA

    For major chain restaurant I checked their websites and if need question then call them to get answers.


    Category: General Question
    05-28-16 05:08:58
  • Hello, Could you please tell me why vitamin D3 from Kirkland is haram ? Thank you very much. - Marwa Ashoor
  • AOA

    It is not kosher certified it means they can add hidden pig based ingredients which will not appear under ingredients statement.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-28-16 05:02:00
  • AOA. I have big confusion regarding Tim Horton coffee....which one is halal to consume....I didn't find here....2nd thing that what you mean by STANDARD or REGULAR coffee.... Is this coffee with milk or simple black coffee... Please give me the reply particularly and don't refer me to check on your website...There is no clarification found... There is one more important point if you add TIM HORTONS in your Chain Restaurant list...because it's very famous and have lot of products Jazak Allah Kamran - Kamran
  • AOA

    Famous restauarnt does not mean they supplied Halal products. It was answered times on Q & A section and you did not search it. Only 100% black coffee is Halal but you can ask them to add 100% milk or cream. All flavored coffee from any restaurants are made with alcohol containing natural flavor. It is same thing with Starbuck.


    Category: Food Products
    05-26-16 20:28:05
  • Rooster brand tofu. Medum-firm Ingredient: soya bean calcium sulfate. Tofu firm ing: magninesiam chloride . Calcium sulphate soybean .is that ingredients are halal. Thanks . - Ayesha
  • AOA

    They are Halal but must have a kosher symbol on the package for hidden ingredients.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-26-16 15:19:54
  • AOA, SEEN THIS AT WALMART CAN YOU PLEASE TELL IF THIS HALAL TO CONSUME? Crisco No-Stick Olive Oil 100% Extra Virgin Cooking Spray, 5 oz •Alcohol Free. •Kosher. •For Fat-Free Cooking Ingredients: Olive Oil*, Soy Lecithin, Dimethyl Silicone (For Anti-Foaming), and Propellant. *Adds A Trivial Amount of Fat. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Crisco-No-Stick-Olive-Oil-100-Extra-Virgin-Cooking-Spray-5-oz/10308243 JAZAKALLAH. - NSYED
  • AOA

    If it has kosher symbol and no alcohol in propellant the it is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    05-26-16 09:05:53
  • AOA, IVE SEEN THIS AT WALMART CAN YOU TELL IF THIS IS HALAL TO USE? Smart Balance Omega Non-Stick Original Cooking Spray: •Zero calories •Supports healthy cholesterol levels •Ideal ratio of omegas, omegas-6 to omega-3 ALA •A great substitute for butter •Kosher Ingredients: Vegetable Oil Blend* (Canola, Soy And Olive Oils), Soy Lecithin, Grain Alcohol (Preservative), Dimethylpolysiloxane And Propellant. Contains: Soy. *Adds A Trivial Amount of Fat. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Smart-Balance-Omega-Non-Stick-Original-Cooking-Spray-6-oz-Pack-of-12/27617804 JAZAKALLAH - NSYED
  • AOA

    Grain alcohol is Haram so that the sparay. Please 100% vegetable oil to lubricate your pan.


    Category: Food Products
    05-26-16 09:01:40
  • Nutella halal or haram - Nusrisaleem
  • AOA

    Here how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food product can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select these way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-26-16 08:56:41
  • AOA, I've seen this at walmart brand name is CRISCO Crisco No-Stick Original 100% Canola Oil Cooking Spray, 6 oz •Kosher •Fat free cooking •0 grams trans fat per serving Ingredients: Canola Oil*, Soy Lecithin, Dimethyl Silicone (For Anti-Foaming), Propellant. *Adds A Trivial Amount Of Fat. LINK TO THE WEBSITE IS: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Crisco-No-Stick-Original-100-Canola-Oil-Cooking-Spray-6-oz/10308156 WONDERING IS THIS HALAL TO USE? JAZAKALLAH. - nsyed
  • AOA

    If there is no alcohol in the product and propellant then it is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    05-26-16 08:53:04
  • As a caterer I have had a request for Halal food. I have purchased Halal meat for sandwiches , What kind of bread is acceptable? Can I use mayonnaise and is Cheese acceptable. Thank you - Moira Taylor
  • Hi.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select these way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-24-16 18:48:29
  • Assalam o Allykum Ferrero Rocher chocolate which is available in market. Is it halal ? Usman Siddiqui. - Usman Siddiqui
  • AOA

    Here how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food product can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select these way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-23-16 23:27:57
  • ASO, is cheese with rennet or pepsin in it halal or not? - Bushra
  • AOA

    CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS:

    The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal: 1. Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, starter culture growth media has to be kosher certified). 2. Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, bulk starter culture media has to be kosher certified). 3. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk. 4. Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves (not available in USA and Canada) and has to be kosher certified 5. Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases has to be kosher certified 6. Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk or whey protein concentrate if added has to be kosher certified 7. Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese has to be kosher certified 8. Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese has to kosher certified 9. Harmless plant based enzyme is if added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese has to be kosher certified 10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums. 11. Cheese must be Kosher certified and the kosher certification must meet the Halal requirements with exception cheese used on pizza, in that case cheese does not have to be kosher certified but if they used kosher certified starter culture bacteria, media and enzyme then meet above requirements then it is consider Halal. Cheese if Halal certified by other Halal certifying organizations must meet above criteria and if above criteria used for Halal certification then it must display on their websites otherwise MCG will not consider their Halal certified cheese as Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-23-16 21:46:29
  • is brookside dark chocolate pomegranate flavor halal? - ira
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-23-16 21:33:26
  • are all the ingredients of the nestle chocolates halal? - Masrur
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-23-16 16:48:54
  • Hello Sir, Last time I asked tow questions but I didn't receive the answers until now . 1: the first question was about vitamin D3 from KIRKLAND. you said it is haram , is the haram one vitamin D3 TABLET or SOFT GEL ? 2: How do you know about halal or haram things? is it by visiting the factories and check every thing or by emailing or phoning the head offices ? Thank you very much . - Marwa Ashoor
  • AOA

    Both are Haram. Vitamins are Halal only if they have kosher symbol and ingredients meet the Halal requirement they are Halal.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED (NON MEAT) FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard):

    (1) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers, (2) Wine, (3) Liquor, (4) Beer batter, (5) Rum flavor, (6) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol or Alcohol as a main ingredient, (7) Cochineal or Carmine, (8) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (containing Wheat & Soy as ingredients), (9) Brewer’s Yeast or Brewer Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making, (10) Nucleotides ( Torula yeast is the as source of Nucleotides but it is grown on Alcohol)), (11) Pectin ( A Mashbooh ingredient, Alcohol may be used during processing for crystization so it needs investigation), (12) Vanilla Extract, (13) Wine Vinegar, (14) Balsamic Vinegar, (15) Natural or Artificial Flavor (If hidden ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent then it is not Halal), (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (Alcohol is used in both), (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol, (18) Carrageenan ( A Mashbooh ingredient,  if ethyl alcohol or Ethanol or Alcohol is used during its processing then it is not Halal), (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction), (20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract, (21) Gelatin (22) Kosher Gelatin.


    Category: General Question
    05-22-16 03:47:23
  • Is polysporin the fast heal ointment halal - Maisa
  • AOA

    I have no information on Polysporin but you can use Neosporin.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-21-16 22:17:38
  • AOA i want to know that is Candyquik brand of log house is halal or not ? usually they are used in coating cake and if this brand is not halal then which candyquik brand is halal please reply - ahmed
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.

     


    Category: Food Products
    05-21-16 17:17:03
  • I want to ask about the ice creme in Dairy Queen Halal ? - sakinah
  • AOA

    None of them is Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-18-16 17:12:01
  • Are there any granola bar and cookies halal in canada? Are there any halal croissants available in canada? please guide. - sanobar
  • AOA

    Here how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food product can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select these way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: Food Products
    05-18-16 15:19:02
  • My kids have DQ treat at school. They were insisting to order dilly bar or ice cream sandwich. I never bought these before and have no idea about the ingredients. Can you advice me if they are halal??? - amina
  • AOA

    Dairy Queen products are not Halal because they do not use kosher certified ingredients and they may use Haram hidden ingredients.


    Category: Food Products
    05-17-16 21:52:41
  • Are honey glazed timbits of tim hortons halal? - seema khan
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    05-17-16 18:07:44
  • Is stevia leaf extract halal? - Tala aryan
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because alcohol is used during its processing.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-17-16 12:51:02
  • on your website Guava, Guava Strawberry Juice Juices from Aljuice is marked halal but in comments it says "No kosher symbol on the package and alcohol may be present in flavor. Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-05-24 shouldn't it be marked mashbooh? - suma
  • AOA

    Thanks for bringing my mistake it was a typ mistake and they are listed as Not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-16-16 19:40:44
  • I got this Kaizen Whey Protien from Costco few months ago, need to confirm if this Halal ? Thanks - Adeel Muneer
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    05-16-16 15:22:23
  • Hello, I would like to ask about KIRKLAND VITAMIN D3 . I read on your website it is not halal , is the tablet or the soft gel not halal or both of them ? Thank you very much. - Marwa Ashoor
  • AOA

    Both are not Halal.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-16-16 11:59:30
  • Hello sir, How do you get the informations about halal or haram , is that by visiting the factories and check every thing or by phoning or emailing head offices in factories and restaurants ? I appreciate your understanding and your time . Thank you very much. - Marwa Ashoor
  • AOA

    I have Master degree in cereal chemistry and technology and have 35 years of work experience in US food industry. I have developed 18 new products, 10 for Kraft, 3 for Nabisco, 4 for MLO and one for Starbuck. If I need clarification and need more information I will call food companies. I visit major food companies plant for Halal certification.


    Category: General Question
    05-16-16 11:42:51
  • Is foothill cremery butter hala???? - Saima
  • AOA

    If it is salted butter made with cream and slat then it is Halal but if it is a unsalted butter made with cream and flavoring then it is not Halal because flavoring contains alcohol but if the flavoring is 100% lactic acid then it is Halal. You need to find out from manufacturer.


    Category: Food Products
    05-15-16 21:13:12
  • Is President`s Choice Strawberry Jam Halal? Ingredients: Strawberries, Sugar, Glucose, Glucose-Fructose, Pectin, Citric Acid. Is Smucker`s Strawberry Jam Halal? Is No-Name Strawberry Jam Halal? - Tere Liyay
  • AOA

    The problem is use of alcohol during the prcessing of pectin. If they do not use alcohol during processing of pectin and there is kosher symbol on the package and no flavor then they are Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-15-16 18:01:09
  • is country harvest wild blue berry halal :WHOLE GRAIN WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR INCLUDING THE GERM, WATER*, SUGAR/GLUCOSE-FRUCTOSE, WHEAT GLUTEN*, FLAX SEED, YEAST*, DRIED SWEETENED WILD BLUEBERRIES (WILD BLUEBERRIES, SUGAR, SUNFLOWER OIL), OAT FLOUR, SOYBEAN AND/OR CANOLA OIL, SALT, CALCIUM PROPIONATE, DIACETYL TARTARIC ACID ESTERS OF MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, NATURAL FLAVOUR, SODIUM STEAROYL-2-LACTYLATE, VEGETABLE ONOGLYCERIDES. MAY CONTAIN SORBIC ACID. TOPPING: ROLLED OATS. *ORDER MAY VARY. CONTAINS: WHEAT, OATS MAY CONTAIN: SESAME SEEDS, SOY - zccsfrwgsgx
  • AOA

    If DIACETYL TARTARIC ACID ESTERS OF MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, SODIUM STEAROYL-2-LACTYLATE are obtained from vegetable fat and no alcohol is used in natural flavor then this bread is Halal otherwise it is not.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-15-16 05:06:58
  • Is bread halal ? When I searched on the site a saw so many ? How do we know if yeast in a bread is halal or not ? Thanks - Mubbasher
  • AOA

    Yeast used in bread baking and nan is Halal throughout the world.


    Category: Food Products
    05-14-16 20:17:07
  • Is the fish sold at Canadian super stores halal? - Salmon fish
  • AOA

    Only wild caught fish are Halal not farm raised fish because the feed for fish may contain pork.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-13-16 19:04:05
  • Are the following ingrediants halal? Its of starbucks iced coffee with milk Ingredients Ice, Brewed Coffee, Milk, Classic Syrup [Sugar, Water, Natural Flavors, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid]. - Shahzad
  • AOA

    It is not Halal coffee because natural flavor is made with hidden alcohol.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-13-16 14:57:19
  • Are Kirkland vitamin D3 tablets halal? - Mubeena
  • AOA

    No, they are not Halal. Please check the list of Halal viatmins on our website.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-13-16 13:24:45
  • Assalam Aleikum, Is "Mini Croissants" made by Walmart (Calgary, Alberta) inside store bakery Halal? What made me concerned is that it does not have the "Kosher" symbol and that it has "Natural and Artificial Flavour" which I can not know if its solvant was alcohol or not. Please advise. Thanks. - Jalal
  • AOA

    Beside alcohol used in natural & artificial flavor it may contains Haram hidden ingredients because there is no kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Food Products
    05-12-16 23:01:00
  • I want to know that the Medium Chain Triglycerides present in calcium magnesium supplement is hala or not? - Abida
  • AOA

    If there is no kosher symbol on the package the medium chain Triglycerides could be from pork fat. Please do not use it.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-12-16 12:35:04
  • I have Centrum with Lutein but it is mentioned that it is FloraGLO LUTEIN... Does it make it Halal? - Ibrahim
  • AOA

    All Centrum vitamins are not Halal. Please do not use any Centrum vitamins. Please look for Halal vitamins on our website.

     

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: General Question
    05-12-16 02:21:48
  • doctor asked me to take "Carlson" Norwegian fish oil concentrate super DHA gems (500 mg of DHA) soft gels. (in the bottle mentioned under ingredients soft gel shell, beef gelatin, glycerin, water and tuna). is it ok to take? Pls reply. salam - Z MURSIDHA
  • AOA

    It is not Halal. Please use the following Halal fish oil:

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Maxi Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 100 Maxigels Fish Oil Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-18991-800-645-1899 Other 2014-05-05
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 Other 2013-09-25
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874 . Other 2014-05-05
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874 . Other 2014-05-05
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin) Fish Oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874 . Other 2014-05-05
    halal Zahlers Kosher Advanced Omega-3 Platinum Fish Oil Highest EPA/DHA (Premium Grade) Softgel Fish Oil Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 Other 2013-09-25

    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-10-16 13:24:09
  • My question is are pringles halal or not - Tasveer shaikh
  • AOA

    Only following are Halal:

    Search results for the term: pringle

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Original Potato Chips Potato Chips Pringle   Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Original Potato Chips Potato Chips Pringle   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-06-03
    halal Pop Chips Original Potato Chips Pringle . Food Basic Supermarket 2014-06-11
    halal Reduced Fat Original Potato Chips Potato Chips Pringle   Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Reduced Fat Potato Chips Potato Chips Pringle   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-06-03
    halal Salt & Vinegar Potato Chips Potato Chips Pringle   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-06-03

    Category: E-Numbers
    05-09-16 15:18:57
  • Are gelatin in so sour warheads candy? - taym
  • AOA

    The candy is not Halal.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-08-16 14:55:47
  • is ingredient made out of a silk of a spider halal? and is amino acids halal? - sarah
  • AOA

    All insects are Haram in Islam so the spider and silk is also Haram.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-08-16 11:58:39
  • Please tell me that Centrum Multivitamin / Multimineral Supplement (MEN) made in Canada is halal product or not because i have no found any label of of H Certification as defined in your site. - Farhan
  • AOA

    All Centrum Vitamins are not Halal. Please Halal vitamins on our website:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-08-16 09:03:38
  • minigo Yoplait yogurt is halal or not pls inform me my email - zoya ali
  • AOA

    It is not Halal. Alcohol is used as hidden ingredient in flavor. They also use Not Halal kosher gelatin.


    Category: Ingredients
    05-07-16 07:17:23
  • What brands of ice cream are halal? - Faatimah
  • AOA

    Here how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food product can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select these way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.

    For Ingredient, Chain Restaurant product, E-Numbers, News and Alert:

    Write the name in the search space then click the following accordingly:

    News

    Alert

    Ingredients

    E-Number

    Food Chain

    Non Food Product

    Then please search it.

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-06-16 07:18:42
  • What brands of ice cream are halal? - Faatimah
  • AOA

    Here how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food product can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select these way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.

    For Ingredient, Chain Restaurant product, E-Numbers, News and Alert:

    Write the name in the search space then click the following accordingly:

    News

    Alert

    Ingredients

    E-Number

    Food Chain

    Non Food Product

    Then please search it.

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-06-16 07:18:42
  • Salam alaikom, I would like to ask about Nescafe sweet and creamy original, Nescafe vanilla cappuccino and coffee-mate. If they're not halal, please give me alternative cappuccino halal. Jazakom Allah khair. - Manal
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because Vanilla is not Halal ingredient made with alcohol.

    Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Fat Free Cappuccino Gelato Gelato Blue Menu   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Mocha Frappuccino Blended Coffee without Whipped Cream with Whole Milk   Coffee Starbucks at their stores According to Starbucks reference number 18987890 there is no alcohol in the Mocha Flavored Sauce (Liquid Sugar, Cocoa, Salt, Artificial Flavor. This sauce is mixed with 100% any Starbucks Coffee

    Category: Food Products
    05-06-16 07:11:47
  • AOA Do you have any information about No name and selection foam plates & cups, are these HALAL? - Haseeb Ahmed
  • AOA

    I do not have information but you have to buy those with kosher symbol such as OU or COR or MK.


    Category: General Question
    05-05-16 17:11:13
  • Are maple lodge Zabiha halal chicken weiners and nuggets halal? - Seema khan
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because they use machine slaughtering.


    Category: Food Products
    05-05-16 16:11:55
  • Is st Ives apricot scrub halal to use? - Faizakhalid
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-05-16 13:01:52
  • Buckleys gel tablets is it halal. I am concerned whether the gelatin used is from pork ? please advise thanks - husain patni
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-04-16 09:02:23
  • Fruit by the fruit company's "FOOT O-Long" is halal? Please reply us as soon as possible. May Allah give you reward in darain.wassalam. - Ibrahi patel
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-04-16 03:02:28
  • salam, is kraft crunchy croquant peanut butter halal? (contains mono & diglycerides) - Uzma G
  • AOA

    It should have a kosher symbol on the package and no flavor to be Halal.

    halal Creamy Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Kraft   Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Crunchy Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Great value   Wal-Mart Super Center 2012-10-16
    halal Crunchy Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Kraft   Wal-Mart Super Center 2012-10-16

    Category: Ingredients
    05-02-16 10:20:30
  • Is philidelphea cream is halal or not? - Naila
  • AOA

    Philadelphia regular cream cheese is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    05-01-16 16:50:05
  • hello i like to know if Black Diamond Mozzarella slices Halal or Haram - Kim Kadri
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on the package which is a must for Halal status. There are many Halal cheese listed on our website please search them.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-01-16 15:31:13
  • Salaam, Is Omega Nutrition Apple cider vinegar halal? Jajak Allahu Khirun - Mariyam
  • AOA

    If it does carry kosher symbol then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    05-01-16 09:13:17
  • Are doughnuts of Tim Hortons halal? - seema
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    04-30-16 20:05:40
  • type of gelatin used in Costco's kirkland medicines - Medhat
  • AOA

    Mostly from pork.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    04-30-16 09:13:51
  • Do you have dietary supplement data like multi vitamins for halal? - Aleem ud din
  • AOA

    Please write Vitamins under search then click "Food Product by Category" then click " Show Only Halal" then search you will see a list of 45 Halal vitamins.


    Category: General Question
    04-30-16 03:27:32
  • I have a question about zabiha halal chicken.They said that, there is a large number of Islamic Scholars (both from Arabic and Indo-Pakistani cultures) who have issued "the Fatwas" (religious verdict/decree) that chicken slaughtered by electrically driven machines/blades are perfectly halal.There is absolutely no reference from Quran and Sunnah (sayings/practices of the Prophet Muhammad Peace be upon Him) that "hand" is a basic requirement for making the slaughter of birds etc. as halal. A person's hand never kills/slaughters a chicken. It is always the knife (whether hand-held or electric rotary blade) that does the killing. In any mechanical engineering terminology, a knife is also a machine - a manual one. The hand held knife draws the energy for it's "to add fro" movement from the person holding the knife, whereas a rotary blade for its "circular" movement is driven by electrical energy. The Four basic requirements in Halal Slaughter are as follows: 1. Allah's (God's) name must be pronounced at the time of slaughter (Bismillah Allahu Akbar). 2. Killing instrument must be very sharp so as to not cause undue pain to the animals. 3. Blood should be drained out properly. 4. The above steps should be performed by a Muslim. 2. The blesser starts the processing line by reciting Allah's name and Tasmiah (Bismillah Allahu Akbar). The blessers continue to repeat this Tasmiah during the entire production at the time of slaughter. So please guide me why it is not halal? Thank You. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    From Alert section:

    UK: Muslim scholars reject machine slaughtered meat as Halal

    Courtesy of www.halalfocus.com Date June 27, 2012

    Filed in Europe, Halal Integrity, Meat & Poultry, Retail, UK on 27/06/2012 with no comments

    By Naumaan Farooq, Asian Express

    After scholars unanimously rejected machine slaughtered meat as being halal, calls have been made for a top fast food outlet to stop mislabelling its chicken ‘halal.’

    Around 40 of the country’s leading Islamic Scholars have called on fast food giant KFC to stop selling their meat as halal which they say is slaughtered using machines.

    At a conference at the Hijaz Centre, Nuneaton some of the countries most respected Imams passed a vote saying machine slaughtered chickens were not halal because the prescribed holy words needed to be said on each individual bird.

    July last year, KFC had 92 ‘halal’ outlets in the UK and many Muslims now feel their food is not killed in accordance with the proper Islamic method. The issue is whether meat can be halal if it has been slaughtered using mechanical methods which scholars said was not allowed.

    Traditionally, halal meat is killed by hand and must be blessed by the person doing the job. But some Muslims say a mechanised form is also now acceptable.

    Speaking at the conference one of the scholars said: “Machine slaughter of animals is totally not allowed in Islam. The prescribed holy words should be said on every animal and not just one.

    “Here we have a scenario when one person just flicks a switch and hundreds of chickens die, that’s not Islamic.”

    Halal is the description of food and drink Muslims are allowed to consume under Islamic dietary laws defined in the Quran and in the sayings of the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).

    Classifying of halal food can only be carried out by a Muslim expert in the laws.

    The meat is traditionally prepared by slaughtering the animal with a quick cut to the throat with a sharp knife to allow all blood to drain out, the idea being that the meat is cleaner. The slaughterman is required to say the traditional proclamation of faith in one god as the animal is killed.

    At present two separate organisations regulate the halal food industry in the UK. The Halal Food Authority (HFA) says using machines is OK, as long as the meat is still blessed. It argues that advances in technology mean methods have to change and though a machine does the killing, the meat is still blessed by a Muslim slaughterman.

    But the Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC) says animals should be slaughtered by hand and using a machine is not halal and not permissible. It argues mechanisation contradicts a fundamental principle of halal – that the person who slaughters the animal is the same person who recites the words over it.

    KFC says it is following the guidance offered by what it considers a reputable adviser.

    At a meeting with the fast food outlet’s representatives two years ago it was confirmed to the Lancashire Council for Mosques that KFC’s chickens were stunned and mechanically slaughtered

    The sub group expressed concerns about the mechanical slaughtering of animals and told KFC that the Muslim Council of Britain supported their position.

    The meeting concluded that KFC’s Halal Supply Chain did not fulfil the LCM Halal criteria and therefore cannot be termed as halal.

    Naved Syed, Member of Eblex Halal Steering Group and responsible for organising the conference in Nuneaton said: “We need to resolve this matter as quickly as possible.

    “The problem with machine slaughter is you cannot perform Tasmiah (Holy prayer) on each animal when you machine killing 20,000 chickens an hour.

    “All of these issues need to be addressed especially on the subject of machine slaughter by the religious authorities.

    “With over 40 Muftis and Imams having made the decision it will enable us to lay the foundation for halal here in the UK.

    “With Ramadan just around the corner this problem needs to be resolved as quickly as possible.”

    Speaking in a recent interview Yunus Dudhwala, chairman of HMC, said: “Halal is a very sacred part of a Muslim’s diet and many Muslims do not even know what they are eating when it’s certified as halal in this way.”

    Make sure you follow this story on www.asianexpress.co.uk <http://www.asianexpress.co.uk/>

    Naumaan Farooq
    Senior Reporter, Asian Express Newspapers

    www.asianexpress.co.uk <http://www.asianexpress.co.uk/>

    07/11/12
    ACCORDING TO HALAL TRIBUNE HFA (A BRITISH HALAL CERTIFYING ORGANIZATION) CEASES TO ACCEPT MECHANICAL SLAUGHTERING OF HALAL POULTRY

    2nd December 2013

    Press Release

    "HFA CEASES TO ACCEPT MECHANICAL SLAUGHTERING OF HALAL POULTRY

    As a result of various consultations and procedural review by the Board of HFA Scholars
    and Trustees, Halal Food Authority (HFA) has decided to amend its certification policy and
    consequently, mechanical slaughtering of poultry would no longer be covered by the HFA
    Halal Standard.
    Poultry slaughterhouses that employ a mechanical fixed blade (mechanised killing) to
    slaughter birds would no longer be accredited by the HFA for halal status with effect from 3RD MARCH 2014".

    US and Canadian Halal meat certification organizations should follow the same so that US and Canadian Muslims consumers will not have to be worry about the Halal status of chicken.

    MCG thinks this is due to a declaration by 40 British Islamic Scholars who declared in 2012 that machine slaughtering of chicken is not consider as Zabiha.

    MCG is not in Halal meat certification business.

    12/11/1

    MCG Ulema do not consider machine slaughtered chicken or lamb as Zabihah. It says in Quran that Allah's name must be pronounce on each animal otherwise it will not consider as Zabiha Halal.

    There was no machine at the time of Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu wa Alaihisalum. Slughtering method are mentioned under Sharia rules. Maple Lodge chicken in Canada are not Halal because they are machine slaughtered.

    Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum

    Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum

     AOA

    I have no information on Mr. Noodles. If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.

    Cheeses are only Halal if they have kosher symbol on the package. Above brands of cheese are not Halal.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    04-28-16 22:01:15
  • I lived in Canada.I was using no name pizza mozzarella cheese for making pizza but I came to know that its not halal. What kind we can use.is black diamond mozzarella cheese halal or not for muslim - mamoona
  • AOA

    Black Diamond cheeses are not Halal because tghere is no kosher symbol on the package.

    Please write cheese under search, click "Food Product by Category" then click " Show Only Halal" then search. They are 64 Halal cheeses are listed on our website.


    Category: E-Numbers
    04-28-16 13:29:48
  • ARGI+ Dietary supplement It has red wine extract.Is it halal - rashida ali
  • AOA

    It is a Haram supplement.


    Category: Food Products
    04-27-16 17:04:14
  • Is this sriracha sauce hala it has Kosher symbol as well....ingredients:chilli,sugar,salt,garlic,distilled vinegar, potassium sorbate, sodium bisulfite as preservative and xantham gum..jazakaAllah - SH
  • AOA

    It is a Halal sauce.


    Category: General Question
    04-27-16 15:33:55
  • Is no name cheese puffs halal - Nilofer
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    04-27-16 15:19:22
  • Is Danette halal? - Karim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    04-27-16 13:30:53
  • Salam Is nerds from the brand Wonka halal or not? - Sadia
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal. It is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-27-16 11:40:45
  • Nature,s bounty your life multi 50+ is hallal - abid
  • AOA

    Nature's Bounty Vitamins are Not Halal

    A brother has provided this information. These vitamins are made with non zabiha beef gelatin.

    Date: Tue, 29 Jul 2014 15:50:45 +0000
    > From: info@naturesbounty.com
    > To: mohsin
    > Subject: Thank you for your interest in Nature's Bounty!
    >
    > Case No. 623539
    >
    > Dear Mohsin,
    >
    > Thank you for contacting Nature’s Bounty. The source of gelatin in the Fish Oil 1200mg (Prod No. 13102, B35857) is bovine (cow). This product is free of pork.
    >
    > If you have any further questions, our Consumer Affairs Representatives can be reached toll-free at 1-800-433-2990, Monday through Saturday, 9am-7pm EST. We look forward to serving you in the future.
    >
    > Kindest regards,
    >
    > Natalie
    > Customer Care Department
    > http://www.naturesbounty.com
    > www.facebook.com/NaturesBountyVitamins
    >

    08/20/14

    Category: E-Numbers
    04-27-16 00:20:58
  • Assalamu alaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuhu. I am from windsor ontario. There is a new restaurant open here named " Popeye's " on Huron church road. They are claiming that their food is halal. I am worried about the chicken and sauces they provide and use for sandwich and cooking. Can you please verify for me. JazakAllahu khairan. - Arshin
  • AOA

    It need further investigation to be consider Halal. The chicken must be hand slaughtered by a Muslim. The sauces ingredients has to be known to find out meat by product ingredients and alcohol in flavors.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-16 15:14:08
  • is jamieson omega 3-6-9 contain with gelatin halal? - hasan
  • AOA

    It could be Haram if the gelatin is from pork.

     

    Halal Fish oil vitamins:

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 5
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA Maxigel   Fish Oil Maxi Health   05-05-14
    halal Omega 3 Premium Fish Oil Maximum Strength EPA/DHA 180 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin)   Fish oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-24-16 00:30:40
  • AOA I have bought milk flavours chew candy from Dubai but on the package it says made in Indonesia in the ingredients list it says beef gelatin but does not mention halal or not. Pls let me know is it halal Jazakallah - Farah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    04-23-16 01:07:09
  • AOA, Is froot by the foot by Betty crocker halal? - Kamran saeed
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because it is made with alcohol containing flavor.


    Category: Ingredients
    04-22-16 19:18:49
  • plz. tell me in Canada kraft pizza morzilla partially skimmed or kraft cheddar slices or black diamond cheddar slices r halal. - asma
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    04-22-16 16:48:25
  • If only whey powder is mentioned in items as chocolate, cake, ice cream ; how to make sure that halal whey powder is used - Sabiha Khan
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal. Whey is only Halal if the product has kosher symbol.

    From our FAQ:

    Is Whey a Halal ingredient:

    Muslims think that if whey is a milk based ingredient then it has to be Halal, but this is not true. There are two kinds of whey, one is sweet or rennet whey and the other is acid whey. Acid whey is obtained during the making of acid type cheese such as cottage cheese. Sweet or rennet whey is used more in food products then acid whey. Sweet whey or rennet whey is a by-product of rennet cheese  such as cheddar cheese or Mozzarella cheese. Whey is a portion of milk remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. Whey is Halal only if the Halal starter culture bacteria, Halal medium on which starter culture bacteria are grown (Starter culture bacteria are Halal if they are obtained from milk source not meat source, and media on which these starter culture bacteria are grown. These requirements can only obtained if the cheese and whey are Halal or Kosher certified (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements). A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing whey indicating that it is manufactured under Halal or Kosher supervision. MCG considers Lactose Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.

     


    Category: General Question
    04-22-16 11:03:17
  • ASAK Wr Wb, Which biscuits are Halal in Canada? - M Irfan
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    04-21-16 10:33:02
  • ASAK Wr Wb, Can you please guide me about Halal biscuits and their symbols? - M Irfan
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    04-21-16 10:25:48
  • are these halal as they contain flavour in it? - reese\'s peanut butter sticks, king size 4 bars
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    04-21-16 10:22:45
  • ASAK Wr Wb: Is Neilson dairy milk 3.25 % is halal in Canada? - M Irfan
  • AOA

    Any milk from any brand is Halal in USA and Canada.


    Category: Food Products
    04-21-16 10:07:59
  • is " 5" winter- mint gum halal please need answer :) Sallam alekum - Salma
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    04-21-16 07:19:36
  • Salam alikum plz iwant to know if kitkat chocolat bars and twix are halal in canada - Maha Medhat
  • AOA

    Kit Kat is not Halal in Canada because of lack Kosher symbol on the package but Twix is Halal and listed as Halal on our website.


    Category: General Question
    04-20-16 19:00:06
  • Assalamualaikum, could you please let me know if there are any haram ingredients below? Sugar, glucose-fructose syrup, wheat flour, malic acid, palm oil, citric acid, artificial flavors, natural antioxidants (accorbic acid, D-tocopherol), turmeric extract (color), artificial colors: FD&C Red 40, FD&C Green 3 Packaged in the same facility as peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, soy, and milk products. Another question is, can we eat food just based on its ingredients? how can we make sure that the process of manufacturing is halal if there is no halal logo on the package? thanks! - Husna
  • AOA

    This product has lot mashbooh ingredients. Artificial flavor if Vanillin then it is Halal other it will contain alcohol. Tumeric extract used alcohol as a extracting solvent. This product has to have a kosher symbol to make D-Tocopherol and artificial color as Halal without it they are not Halal.

    Food product can not be consider Halal based on ingredients list because every food products is made with hidden or processing aid ingredients only Kosher symbol on the package if meet Halal requirements protect Muslims from added Haram hidden ingredient.


    Category: Ingredients
    04-20-16 00:20:18
  • Palafer 300 mg Made from gelatin its halal Thanks - haitham
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: Ingredients
    04-19-16 22:59:45
  • Salam i just recived ur 2 email iam still confused in one u said only 100 tamarind is halal and another email u said if the ingredients is only tamarind in the pacakage its mean its halal.kindly tel me i have tamarind product of thailand and ingredirnts is only tamarind by quality product so is it halal can i use it consider as a halal .kindly let me know.and give me reply. - Sumiya
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-19-16 14:27:31
  • As.A, I was wondering if bath and Body works lotions were Halal? - A\'Shadieeya Coulter
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    04-19-16 09:23:25
  • Please i want to know a brand of ice cream and brand of yoghurt are halal to buy them , and if i can eat from Kentucky fried chicken (KFC) or it is not halal - Maha Medhat
  • AOA

    Nothing is Halal at KFC.

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    04-19-16 08:52:06
  • Is silver spoon suger is halal jazak Allah - Abdul sattar
  • AOA

    If Silver Spoon is brand of sugar and it is 100% sugar then it is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    04-18-16 14:27:52
  • Assalamualaikom, i am Noor Islam from Afghanistan and want to ask about a malt beverage named Barbican whether its halal or haram which is produced by Rani company in UAE. - Noor Islam
  • AOA

    I need to know its complete ingredients before whether it is Halal or not.


    Category: Food Products
    04-18-16 04:20:43
  • Is natural vanilla extract halal? - haseeb
  • AOA

    It is Haram ingredient because it contains 35% alcohol minimum.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-17-16 19:16:58
  • Is galaxy chocolates halal and that from gulf - Waheda
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    04-17-16 02:55:06
  • is popeye halal chicken in ottawa - Nada
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-16-16 22:35:31
  • Tim Horton breakfast sandwiches with chader cheese is halal? - sana
  • AOA

    None of the product at Tim Horton is Halal except 100% coffee and tea.


    Category: E-Numbers
    04-16-16 07:52:41
  • Salam Alaikom. Regarding Becel Margarin light, their website shows it is kosher (http://www.becel.ca/en/becel/becelproducts/becel-light.aspx). Is it considered halal then? Thanks in advance - Muslima
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: Bacel

    Total results generated: 1
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Canola Oil, Sunflower Oil Oil Bacel   Food Basic Supermarket 2014-04-28

    Category: Food Products
    04-16-16 07:25:30
  • Assalamoalikum I am wondering that is mutant mass halal? and its muscle mass gainer... it is in strawberry and banana flavour. it would be glad if you help me as soon as you can. - anonymous
  •  AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-15-16 20:15:24
  • Is dr oetkar frozen pizza halal in toronto.if so which flavours are halal - fathima
  •  AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    04-15-16 09:24:59
  • Assalam-o-Alaikum, is Pizza Nova (Veg Pizza) Halal ? http://www.pizzanova.com/locations/toronto.html - Muhammad Waseem
  •  AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    04-15-16 07:51:51
  • salam h r u?i have tamarind there is only ingreidents tamarind so its means its halal.there is nothing else just tamarind thats it can i use it .okwaiting for reply. - sumiya
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-14-16 22:05:45
  • foremost dairy ice cream chocolate marble is halal or haram? - anam
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    04-14-16 21:11:33
Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 57 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 853 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 1,601 ]
  •  General Question  [ 541 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 291 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 526 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 42 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 311 ]

Lj Web Management, Inc.